Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Consider a Black Coach (Vampire Counts) locked in combat. It gains hatred in its magic phase, does the black coach now get to re-roll missed hits in its close combat phase even though technically it is not its first round of close combat?
No, since as you mentioned, it's not the first round of close combat. It's just like when a character with hatred is in a unit that gets charged, but he's not in base contact. In the next turn, he moves into base contact with the enemy but doesn't get to reroll misses since even though its his first time swinging, it's not the combat's first round.
In subsequent combats, of course, he'd get to reroll misses.
What about Dark Elf Assassins that choose to reveal themselves on the 2nd round of close combat, their FAQ says he can re-roll missed hits as it his first round of close combat.
Can't the same logic apply to both above scenarios?
I would still say no to the black coach, it's not its first round of combat.
The assassin is unique and a bit weird as a result
I think by the letter of the rules then no you wouldn't get the benefit of Hatred. I think by the spirit of the rules then you would gain the bonus for Hatred.
Another example is where a Monster gains frenzy and hatred after its Master is slain. It seems fairly incomprehensible that he wouldn't get the advantage of Hatred in the subsequent round of combat even if it wasn't the first.
Basically its a matter if you want to play the rules or play the game.
"God is dead" Nietzsche- 1886
"Nietzsche is dead" God- 1900
Why are there scams? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q71FLDIMBc8