Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'am having an discussion with my friend about new rule Stomp.
The point is, that my friend states (while referencing to 8th edition Rulebook.) that Strenght modifiers from weapons (for example Great Weapon) applies to that attack as the rule says: "inflicts 1 automatic hit, at the model's Strength".
edit: also quote from weapons: "if the strength is shown as modifier, for example +1, +2 or -1, then this is the modifier the weapon applies to the wielding model's strength."
Is that true? Or are we missing something? Seems bit dreadful to see Ogres running around and stomping with really high S stat
Thanks in advance.
ps: "Logic" arguments don't apply. Bare and bones facts based on FAQ/Rulebook only.
Last edited by gensturm; July 16th, 2010 at 19:23.
Model's strength is always what's on his profile, not what he gets after weapon boosts. GW DrOgres would attack at str7 and then stomp at str5. Just like impact hits. Minos get impact hits at str5, then attack at str 7 and then stomp at str5.
US Master's Midwest Advisor.
Come join me at my GT this September www.brewfestgt.com
Mind giving an example from Rulebook?
What you said is clearly logic, i agree, but not rule-wise.
"if the strength is shown as modifier, for example +1, +2 or -1, then this is the modifier the weapon applies to the wielding model's strength."
But I can't find anything specific other than the model's strength always having been what it said on the profile and then the fact that the stomp attack represents the creature stomping on the enemy and/or sweeping its tail against the unit, the last sentence of the Stomp rule says this.
But the BRB uses the same wording, model's strength in both cases, so I'm at a loss. The fluff would suggest no bonus (unless the weight of the weapon adds force to his stomp) while the rule says he gets it.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
In that case it means, that stomp can be use with S modified by weapon, because nothing like 'base strength' or 'strength in unit's profile' is written describing the Stomp rule (like it is, for example, with characteristic tests). At least before any errata will come.the modifier the weapon applies to the wielding model's strength.
and I also agree that it may be against logic, but that is what rules say.
If you consider the last edition, it is clear that they mean the unmodified strength of the model, but that is something that is not written in the BRB as such, which is why this is an issue.
Wow, they could've just avoided this issue if they had simply written unmodified strength value in the stomp rule. But GW isn't really known for its foresight. Either they intended weapon modifiers to be used with stomp or they used poor wording to describe the stomp rule.
Either way, an errata/FAQ would clear this up nicely in the future but in the meantime, you're just gonna have to use a house rule if you cannot decide which way stomp should work.
Necrons W68-D13-L10 (3rd edition codex)
Necrons W3-D1-L1 (latest codex)
Skaven still being assembled