Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
using Lore of Death, suppose you start with 10 dice. you throw 2 dice to cast Spirit Leech and you kill a lord with 3 wounds. from those 3, you roll for Life Leech and gain 3 new Power Dice.
Do you now have 8+3=11 dice? or do you have to keep track of all dice that ever were in the pool, meaning 10+3=13, so you gain only 2.. so the pool becomes 10 dice?
using a Slann with rumination, or a highelf Dragonmage. you start off with 10 dice.
can the slann cast 6 spells generating 6 dice? one for each spell? as long as there's never more than 12 in the pool at any given time is this ok?
or do we say that the slann could only generate 2 more dice from rumination. so only his first 2 spells will get an extra free dice?
Sorry for the confusion, I just plan on using a Dragonmage and the Lizardmen FAQ has a question about this which is unclear.
Q. Does the ‘free’ power dice gained from Focused Rumination count
against the power limit? (p43)
I think it means you can never have more than 12 dice in the pool at one time. So in both your examples, the extra dice would all be allowed. There is some discussion about this though, so that is just my view.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
Just adding something, although i completely agree with Sirkently
theres 2 ways people tend to see the power limit
1: power limit at any one time.
2: power limit is a total number per magicphase.
The powerdice limit is very clear about it being option 1, since it is literally what is said in the rule.
Thats where the problem hits home. Many people want to read it as 2, because option 1 might lead to magic being unbalanced powerfull so they like to believe the writer forgot to mention some stuff.
max "dice at any one time" give abilities that add extra dice more value (note, they have good vale in both options), but it also creates something that cannot be stopped (theres only so many dispel dice one can bring, while magicdice just seem to keep on stacking up)
So even though i'd like to believe it was meant per phase. Rules say otherwise untill some erata comes along.
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs
Yet in consideration to be in a situation where breaching the 12 cap is a regular occurance the player would have spent points on generating extra dice. Either through magic items or extra magi in the army. Ignoring items that would be better in other situations, including less combat heavy characters and opening up the risk of destroying their own forces by an even greater amount simply by tempting fate more often.
Taking more magic is inciting Standard Procedure. (Jump up in the air and spread yourself over a 30' radius)
It isn't as easy, for the majority of armies, to generate a significant amount of magical defense though, which is the crux of the argument, which may well resolve itself as people settle into the rules after the initial "ARGH! CHANGE!" has dissipated
Fantasy: Wood Elves, Dark Elves, Beastmen and Tomb Kings.
LotR: Misty Mountains and Rohan
the BRB FAQ just came out 2 days ago and has this about this thread!thanks to all who responded. and correctly I might add!Q: Can I use more than 12 power or dispel dice in a phase even
though the pool is limited to 12? (p30)
A: Yes. While the pool can never contain more than 12 power
or dispel dice at any one time, some abilities can generate
more dice part way through a Magic phase.