Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So, had my first game of 8th ed. tonight (it was great ). Ran into this question. What happens when a war machine is charged by a Terror-causer and fails the resulting panic test?
Terror causes a panic test in the charged unit (p. 78, Terror, Run for your lives!) and if the unit fails they must make a Flee! reaction. However, in the rules for war machines it is stated that they can only take the Hold reaction (p. 109, Movement, third paragraph) and that if they are forced to flee the war machine will automatically be destroyed (such as in failing a Break test in close combat). Furthermore, the rules for war machines state that if a war machine fails a panic test then the only result is that the machine cannot shoot during the next shooting phase.
Since the rules for Terror state that it is a panic test then the rules for war machine panic applies, OR does the obligation to Flee! as a result of a failed Terror test override the war machine's ability to only be able to choose Hold?
Me and my friend narrowed it down to the following alternatives:
1.) The crew flees. The war machine is destroyed. The model can complete it's charge move as normal.
2.) The crew flees. The war machine is destroyed. The model can redirect it's charge move.
3.) The crew Holds and counts as panicked for the sake of shooting.
We opted for option number 1 in the end, but are unsure on how to resolve this. What are your thoughts?
Last edited by Da Mighty Camel; July 22nd, 2010 at 23:03.
Tsk, unstable crews these days, it makes me grumble in my beard.
I'm not through all the rules yet, but looking at the information you've provided I would say option 3.
Warmachine is charged andcan only make 1 reaction: Hold
Warmachine is charged by terror causer, and the panic test is failed. The reaction of the charged unit is automatically changed to Flee
It is impossible to make a Flee reaction as a result of being charged, so will still hold.
Therefore I'd say the crew won't flee.
Also a terror causer forces you to take a panic test, and the only effect a panic test has on a warmachine is that it cannot fire. Therefor that's the only effect.
And most likely the terror causer rips the crew apart anyway, so most of the time the warmachine is goooooone.
This is what I would logically assume to happen, from the information and rules you've provided. I am not through the entire rulebook yet though, I could have missed something that provides the answer.
The rules up until Unit Types are considered as relating to infantry, rules from that point onward clarified for certain troop types and incidents take precedence.
Fantasy: Wood Elves, Dark Elves, Beastmen and Tomb Kings.
LotR: Misty Mountains and Rohan
war machines y can only take the Hold reaction (p. 109, Movement, third paragraph) and that if they are forced to flee the war machine will automatically be destroyed
Terror force them to Flee
Therefore remove the model and the charging unit continues its charge. I assume it would be a failed charge as the charger can no longer reach its target?
Arch Overfiend & Grand Despot
I currently play:
Doom Eagle Space Marines
Hive Fleet Omega Tyranids
Goff Ork Boyz(dead)
Tau of O'me
Inquisitorial Xeno Hunters
and my attempted foray into fantasy
'Dark Angel Green' Dark Elves in need of fluff
hum.. strange situation...
Even though terror rules say you take a 'panic test' instead of a 'Panic Test', I would say the war machine rules still apply. So no they are not forced to flee, they fail a panic test and jump for cover.
The terror rule doesnt force to flee in whatever case. It forces to choose flee! reaction if you fail the panic/Panic test. Something war machine crew is not allowed to choose normally. Common sense would say the gunner would disable the gun and run instead of jumping for cover.
"Therefore remove the model and the charging unit continues its charge. I assume it would be a failed charge as the charger can no longer reach its target?" -Omegoku-
The fact that no explanation is given for what would happen in that situation would support that this is not the way its meant.
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs