Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
ok first off I have the 8th edition rule book and have read all the rulebook faqs on gw's site.
now my question is" Do power/dispel dice unused in the magic phase carry over from turn to turn".This is not stated anywhere and is very important as you may only choose to cast a single spell this turn and save your dice for the next turn.Also for dispelling "remains in play" spells, it says that you can use dispell or power dice as if they were dispell dice, so I assume they can be combined in a single dispell roll as they are both considered "dispell" dice for the purposes of dispelling "remains in play spells" only.Also if this is true an army with no wizards must be able to cast winds of magic,and if it turns out that they can, and that the power/dispel dice pools dont empty at the end of the turn, that any army will have a ton of dice to throw at "remains in play" spells.They could have 12 power dice just sitting there for this purpose.That does'nt seem right to me.every thing ive stated here is not discused anywhere in the rule book so any help resolving these issues would be a great help. thanks in advance
Power/dispell dice unused in the magic phase do not carry over from turn to turn, unless by use of a special rule or magic item.
Every magic phase the player whose turn it is rolls 2D6 for the winds of magic. He can go casting about, and if there happen to be 'remains in play' spells he can opt to use some of the powerdice from his powerpool that turn, and dispell the remains in play spell as if those powerdice were dispelldice.
An army without wizards also rolls the 2D6 winds of magic in his own turn, and though the player has no wizards to cast spells with, the player can use his pool of powerdice to dispell 'remains in play' spells, if there are any. If there aren't you can still roll for the winds of magic, it just doesn't do anything ( unless you have items of special rules which, for example, save powerdice as dispelldice ) .
When rolling for the Winds of Magic, you are determining your 'base' pool of dice.
This is a permissive ruleset, so you must be given permission to carry over the dice. Carrying over dice would mean that you trying to add two pools together, add to a pool that doesn't exist yet, or otherwise doing something not outlined in either the spirit or wording of the rules.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes