Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
A few questions regarding the magic phase. As unlike many games, Warhammer doesn't have a strict system of priority within phases, my playgroup has encountered several sort of Mexican Standoffs with power dice.
These are actually dependent on my first question:
If dispel dice can be used to dispel Remains in Play spells, can a player simply wait for say, Throne of Vines to be cast on whatever (say Teclis slings 4 dice at it and rolls 20+4 for being Teclis) and then throw dice at dispelling it at its minimum value? In that same phase? Even if he threw them with IF? Can Teclis slip in other attempts at spells using Throne's benefits before I can dispel it or can I dispel it before he can start buffing Elves to T7?
We've read through the BRB and cannot for the life of us find anything saying in what order dispels of RiP spells fit into the regular casting order. If we've missed something obvious, please tell us.
Then you throw dispelling RiP spells with your own power dice during your magic phase interacting with opponents dispelling RiP spells in your magic phase with their Dispel Dice on top of then trying to dispel you recasting those RiP spells with your power dice and it seems to become truly truly chaotic.
Add in scrolls with effects and it all goes bananas.
Please for the love of God tell me we missed something really simple that changes all of this, because I can't help but feel as though we're playing this really really really wrong.
Dispelling remains in play spells can only happen in following magic phases. This is on page 36 in the BRB. So you can't do it in the same turn it is cast.
As for what happens first, the player whose turn it is always determines what goes first if both players want to do something.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
Your opponent casts his spells in his phase, and you may attempt to dispell those by rolling higher.
In your own magic phase you can use your own powerdice to either cast spells, or dispell a R.I.P. spell of your enemy on basic casting value.
If you are done casting and your opponent still has dispelldice left, I believe he can use those dice to try and dispell a remains in play spell ( provided it wasn't cast in that very magic phase ) .
I would agree that the player whose turn it is chooses the order, but for pure sportsmanship (or rather to make your opponent nervous), I'd happily ask my opponent if he wants to dispel anything at the start of my magic phase.
Otherwise, I think it's a nice rule that the player whose turn it is makes all casting attempts and THEN the other player may attempt to dispel with his remaining dice.
5000p. High Elves