Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
so what happens if you roll a Purple Sun under a Stegadon?
p.10 BRB says, "if a model (or unit) has more than one value for a characteristic, you use the highest available."
while the LM FAQ, says a Steggie is a Ridden Monster with more than 1 rider. and under Templates on p.105 says that both the riders and the monster are hit separately (template by a weapon or a spell, so we're good here).
So does the Steggie test on his Init of 1, or use the skinks' Init of 4?
As I read it,
Skinks die on 5+, while if the Stegadon does not roll a 1, remove the whole model.
5000p. High Elves
The stegadon is not 'hit', it touches the vortex and must therefore pass a characteristic test.
I think you have to use the best value rule
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs
can't the steggie use the highest value? (4 from the skinks)
another weird question is what if in CC someone hits a skink with a weapon that does a toughness test for example. would the skink use the steggie's toughness since it's obviously a "characteristic test"? 0.0
well, obviously RAI the stegadon would have to use its initiative against the sun. As far as I know, the the stegadon has separate wounds for the crew and the stegadon, so I guess they can't use each other's characteristics (unlike a cavalry model, which only has one 'target').
first of all the purple sun is a game ender, boo on you GW.
but because it is a template weapon i would say both the stegadon and the skinks are hit, but all test on I4, due to stegi being a ridden monster. basically the skinks are trying to manuver the stegi out of the way usint their I, imo...
in close combat, if the Skink has to take a T check, he does not get to use the stegis T. the attack is hitting the skink not the stegi, which is why you get to choose who to attack in CC, either the skinks or the stegi.
In general you will use the highest value.
Excluding the case of ridden monsters like the stegadon, where a template will hit both seperately and both test seperately on their own characteristic.
It also sounds plausible however that both are hit seperately, but both do use the highest of the characteristics available to them.
Looking at the rules you can overlap them. If you test both seperately but use the highest characteristic then you abide to both the rules on page 10 and page 105. You test seperately, both on the highest characteristic. This seems to be the most plausible!
They are all counted as different models. They can be targeted seperately in close combat. The stegadon HAS an initiative value so therefore it stands to reason that they take the initiative tests at their own values...... you don't see the stegadon trying to use the skinks initiative to attack sooner do you? so why would they swap the values around..... thats just silly. Sorry stegadon... on a 2+ you're dead.
A clearer ruling in about 9 hours would be very helpful ;D
On closer look at the rules I would have to concede: stegadon does take initiative test on the skinks initiative. The rules do say that in a unit always use the highest value for characteristic tests. So if you have a high toughness character in a unit of weaklings they get to use his toughness for toughness tests (not to be confused with wounding). To me this doesn't make sense, it just seems silly, but I can't argue with it, its what the rulebook says.