Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So if you miscast and your poor little wizard takes a s10 hit and is wounded you then roll your ward save (if you have one) and hope like crazy you can save the crazy fool. But what if you have magic resistance? Will this help to increase your ward save against the effects of a miscast? As I see it a miscast is created from the wizard losing control of the magical energies and the force of that causing a wound.... so its a wound caused by magic.... so therefore MR should help. yes/no? anyone know?
Nope, it obviously doesn't work that way. The magic resistance rule says: "a model with magic resistance has a bonus to its ward saves when saving against damage caused by spells" , so damage caused by the spell itself and not by any other side effects like miscasts, being blown or panicing into dangerous terrain etc.
Futhermore, adding to what the bearded one said, the FAQ clearly states that the damage taken from a miscast isn't considered spell damage. It is the same as being hit by a magic weapon.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.