Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I posted this question on a few other forums and they all keep insisting on ignoring the 90 degree turn allowed on p.20 BRB. also some of them insist that a warmachine has a front/flank/rear facing, hence you can't charge it in it's "flank" if you didn't start in that sector. here's the original question please convince me that I'm wrong so I don't seem like a "rules laywer" jerk. all I'm trying to achieve is to use the allowed turn to get a more favorable pursuit path for the eagle/charger. thanks all.
Ok picture this scenario..
I fly my eagle towards my buddy's warmachine hill about 18" away from the nearest warmachine. the eagle is facing to an angle.. say about 20 degrees to the right of the hill.
on my 2nd turn I declare a charge with the eagle on the rightmost warmachine.. I roll for distance I get 9" on swiftstride, 19" total. so the charge range is good. now.. instead of going straight to the warmachine... I have the eagle fly straight ahead to the right of the hill.. then just as the warmachine is on the eagle's left wing, I have the eagle turn left 90 degrees and then complete the charge swooping from the right of the hill leftwards. this is in hopes that if they break the eagle can pursue into a 2nd warmachine right next to the 1st one.
now on page. 20 BRB it says that once the charge range has been found to be good, then the "charging unit can move an unlimited amount. and we don't have to worry about distance anymore.", it also clearly allows a 90 degree turn mid-charge.
Is this charge OK?
And I'm assuming here that warmachines don't have a front/flank/rear arc, so the eagle is free to charge it from whichever side it can reach, is this right?
Many thanks all,
Im afraid it is not allowed, no.
Page 21 of the BRB. If you're in the front arc of the unit you wish to charge, you can only charge it in the front arc, as it will most likely be the nearest point from your own unit.
It is correct that war machines dont have any flanks or a rear, but that is only for the purpose of Combat Resolution. Page 110.
But since we measure from the nearest point to the nearest point, in the case of a war machine, you measure from the nearest point of the body, you cannot go around it, in the situation just told.
Or atleast, that how I see it.
- "Unit facing" on page 3 tells us to draw the forward arc by using the corners of the base, something war machines do not have. The warmachine rules do tell us warmachines have a front facing but thats not enough info to decide they should have a flank
- 'Charging a warmachine' on page 109, shows that the charger doesnt have to line up to a 'front' or 'flank'.
Now if your eagle is standing somewhere between the flank and front, its hard to decide where the border is,
Now although the rules do not actually support warmachines have flanks/rear you can play it that war machines have flanks. Perhaps play it like the goblin unit on page 21: when its unclear wether you're attacking in flank or rear, roll a dice for it.
Whatever the rule is, It's not allways a good thing to follow the rule to the letter. You are charging a unit, not running around it in circles, so, after battle, if some of your models are missing/broken, you were warned
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs
edit dont work for me =(
@ reality cheque, i think you mixed up the 90 degree arc turn wheel and the closing the door wheel.
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs
so would it be allowed to have my eagle come at a 45 degree angle of the warmachine's front to have atleast a 45 degree freedom in aligning a better pursuit path?
This is in order to stay within the supposed "front" arc. Which I'm still not convinced exists but for the sake of going along.
In order to get that charge on the side and line up for the impending run along the back side of your opponent's line, you would have to position your charging unit on the initial move so that side is the closest facing side when you charge.
Every model has a forward, flank and rear arc. Every model!!
Also from "A warmachine has no flanks/rear for the purposes of combat resolution" you can deduce it does have a flank & rear arc. This section specifically mentions an exception to this general rule. So for other purposes it has an arc.
If the warmachine is not put on a base it is best to measure this arc from the corners of the carriage.
And above all other things; it's a bit douchebaggy to charge in such a way to overrun into other warmachines by going to the exact letter of "o, it says base, baaaaase! Warmachines have no baaaaase!" Pretty handy that I gave my warmachines a base anyway Digger warned you: Some of your property might feel the wrath of opponents.
BRB says on page 21: "A charging unit's position when the charge is declared, determines wether it charges into the front, flank or rear of the enemy unit." If your eagle starts in the forward arc, it must end it's charge touching the warmachine in it's forward arc.
However you can charge in a way like the goblins on page 109. You will have to end in the arc you started in, as with every charge, but you don't have to align to the warmachine. So if you charge cleverly ( and are lucky the warmachines are in a nice path for that ) you might still achieve an overrun move into another warmachine, but not as easily as charging forward, 90 degree turn and suddenly you hit the flank.
By using your turn manouevre during the charge, you can touch the warmachine with the corner of your charging model/unit, but with your unit/model at an angle ( do not go overboard with this though because, again, this is douchebaggy ) . So move forward untill you are close to the warmachine, then make a turn manouevre so your unit points more in the direction you want them, and then complete your charge, touching the warmachine.