Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
G'day all, I have a query that came up in a game I played the other night and need an interpretation, I'll give you the back story:
TK -v- DE, I had a horde of DE warriors get a lucky charge onto my unit of chariots containing a prince, once in combat I issued a challenge with my prince and my opponent declined having 2 mages in the unit, so I sent on to the back, the combat lasted 2 combat phases before I crumbled to death. After the combat my opponent did a reform move and kept his mage in the back rank?
I queried this move and after throughly reading the rulebook I found that there was nothing written stating that his characters needed to return to the front rank after combat (I looked in the movement, Close combat, character and Challengers section of the rulebook and the FAQ). My Question is that is this a legal move where he can keep his charaters in the back rank of a unit after refusing the challenge?
It's generally assumed that characters must be placed in the front rank at all times.
Pg 92- Second Bold Heading
Position Within the Unit
Command Groups are positioned in the unit's front rank and are moved automatically if the unit reforms.
I read the part later about characters joining units
"When characters join a unit, they are placed in the front rank (regardless of distance). Rank-and-file models, except for the command group that must remian in the front rank, are moved to the back ranks to make room for the characters. If there is no more room in the front rank, some characters will have to go in the second rank"
The way this is worded makes it seem that when you join a regiment you move to the front, but after that it's up to you. This is as cheesy as all get-out, but under RAW, this is perfectly legal. I'd even be willing to reinforce this by saying that the book is only making a real point about keeping Command models in the front rank, and saying that characters go in the second rank. That means that if you're unit is frontage 5, and has a full command of 3 models- if 3 characters join that regiment, one of them is going to be in the second rank.
Grr... GW wrote a pretty water-tight ruleset this time, but whenever they leave a loophole, boy do they ever leave a loop hole.
Hmm but as casualties are removed from the back rank no matetr what there cuase that means said coward hiding in the rear is going to die faster