Questions about Gyrocopter and Swordmasters - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member *Monsterman*'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Age
    26
    Posts
    118
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    11 (x1)

    Questions about Gyrocopter and Swordmasters

    Hey there, since I haven't found these questions already asked, here goes:

    -Can the Gyrocopter fire it's Steam Gun in close combat (and effectively get another 2d6 str3 armour piercing attacks)? Please say "yes"!

    -The eternal question, do Swordmasters get their re-roll to hit, due to ASF, or is it canceled by great weapon's ASL, along with ASF's additional bonuses, and so they "just" strike at Initiative 5? I'd go for the later answer, but I want to be perfectly clear on this

    Thanks in advance

    Necrons W0/D0/L0 Dwarfs W10/D2/L6 (8th edition)

    http://hobby-fun-zone.blogspot.com/

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    The Future realitycheque's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Bedford, UK
    Age
    37
    Posts
    4,848
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    403 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by *Monsterman* View Post
    -The eternal question, do Swordmasters get their re-roll to hit, due to ASF, or is it canceled by great weapon's ASL, along with ASF's additional bonuses, and so they "just" strike at Initiative 5? I'd go for the later answer, but I want to be perfectly clear on this
    All high elves have ASF, and ignore any ASL the weapons may inflict - so they strike first, with rerolls to hit if they have a higher I
    My Deathwatch Campaign
    Furious Angels: (SM) W22, D1, L9 (BA) W15, D0, L3 | Sentinels of Saphery (HE) W3, D0, L0

  4. #3
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by *Monsterman* View Post
    Hey there, since I haven't found these questions already asked, here goes:

    -Can the Gyrocopter fire it's Steam Gun in close combat (and effectively get another 2d6 str3 armour piercing attacks)? Please say "yes"!
    No. It's not a breath weapon.


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  5. #4
    Member *Monsterman*'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Age
    26
    Posts
    118
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    11 (x1)

    Aww damn, not he answers I was hoping for...
    Thanks a lot
    Necrons W0/D0/L0 Dwarfs W10/D2/L6 (8th edition)

    http://hobby-fun-zone.blogspot.com/

  6. #5
    quik-quik, kill-kill! The bearded one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Karak Rotterdam
    Age
    25
    Posts
    2,651
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    585 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by *Monsterman* View Post
    Hey there, since I haven't found these questions already asked, here goes:

    -Can the Gyrocopter fire it's Steam Gun in close combat (and effectively get another 2d6 str3 armour piercing attacks)? Please say "yes"!

    -The eternal question, do Swordmasters get their re-roll to hit, due to ASF, or is it canceled by great weapon's ASL, along with ASF's additional bonuses, and so they "just" strike at Initiative 5? I'd go for the later answer, but I want to be perfectly clear on this
    yes, they will get reroll to hit almost ALWAYs, because high elves are lame, GW loves them, and they are uncertain about their manhood so compensate with ASF great weapons with reroll to hit.. on WS6 guys...

    Thanks in advance
    I think you will be disappointed by the gyro now, don't take it, take an organ gun.
    - can't move and shoot
    - can't use it's template in CC
    - still has 4+ to hit partials!!! ( Jervis Johnsen's article on the GW site recently said that if the armybook still has it, it still applies. It's not errata'd and the dwarven community has collectively dumped the gyro. )
    - it's marchblock job from 7th edition is ineffective now.

  7. #6
    Member *Monsterman*'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Age
    26
    Posts
    118
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    11 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by The bearded one View Post
    I think you will be disappointed by the gyro now, don't take it, take an organ gun.
    - can't move and shoot
    - can't use it's template in CC
    - still has 4+ to hit partials!!! ( Jervis Johnsen's article on the GW site recently said that if the armybook still has it, it still applies. It's not errata'd and the dwarven community has collectively dumped the gyro. )
    - it's marchblock job from 7th edition is ineffective now.
    Aww damn, and I used to love it a lot
    Oh well, thanks a lot mate, seem I will have to go with dual Organ Guns...oh darn... xD

    PS. the blue coloured text you added...It's funny beacause it's true xD
    Necrons W0/D0/L0 Dwarfs W10/D2/L6 (8th edition)

    http://hobby-fun-zone.blogspot.com/

  8. #7
    Senior Member Darguth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    582
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    60 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by The bearded one View Post
    I think you will be disappointed by the gyro now, don't take it, take an organ gun.
    - can't move and shoot
    - can't use it's template in CC
    - still has 4+ to hit partials!!! ( Jervis Johnsen's article on the GW site recently said that if the armybook still has it, it still applies. It's not errata'd and the dwarven community has collectively dumped the gyro. )
    - it's marchblock job from 7th edition is ineffective now.
    As the Steam Gun does not have the Move-or-Fire rule and the Gyrocopter only counts as a War Machine for the purposes of being targeted or affected by spells that specifically affect War Machines, it should be able to still move and fire. It does not gain the Move-or-Fire and Slow-to-Fire rules like other War Machines, if I'm reading this correctly. It would, however, still be unable to fire the Steam Gun in the same turn in which it marched just like any other normal shooting attack.

    Unless I'm missing something?

  9. #8
    Member Hockeyman506's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,648
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    184 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by *Monsterman* View Post
    Hey there, since I haven't found these questions already asked, here goes:

    -Can the Gyrocopter fire it's Steam Gun in close combat (and effectively get another 2d6 str3 armour piercing attacks)? Please say "yes"!
    I'm pretty sure that is a definite 'no'. Errata also states that gyrocopters do not get thunderstomp! and they may not be chosen as character mounts.

    -The eternal question, do Swordmasters get their re-roll to hit, due to ASF, or is it canceled by great weapon's ASL, along with ASF's additional bonuses, and so they "just" strike at Initiative 5? I'd go for the later answer, but I want to be perfectly clear on this

    Thanks in advance
    Errata says that they ASF and ignore the restrictions on great weapons.

    Read through the new Errata and FAQs. It will probably answer most of your questions.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts