Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If for example you kill the first rank in combat before they get to strike back do they get any attacks back as you take casualties from the back but count them dieing at the front. Also what happens to the banner bearer and musician or champion. Do they die or if not will they get to attack back.
help would be nice here as i find the rules confusing and this will help me a lot.
Nothing more funny than 3 inquisitors with sanctify when facing deamons. They cant do anything while you stand in front of them having a tee break.
Perhaps you could read the command group section of the BRB a little more closely? (pg. 92-95, there's even a little box that tells you what to do).
And as of 8th edition, casualties are taken from the back so models in front will pretty much get to strike back all the time (though there is the possibility of an army/wargear specific rule(s) that I don't know about that makes an exception...)
Necrons W68-D13-L10 (3rd edition codex)
Necrons W3-D1-L1 (latest codex)
Skaven still being assembled
You do not just take models from the back for ease so you don't have to wiggle out models from the front, you take models from the back out because THOSE guys die, and the ones on the front do not and can strike back. A champion can be targeted and killed. The musician and banner bearer could die, but some other guy would take up their musical instrument or banner, so it count that these 2 can not be killed, untill only the champion, musician and banner bearer are left. Then the first one to die will be the musician, then the banner ( as there are no rank & file left to take up the equipment of these 2 ) and finally the champion.
Also, an important distinction on the step up rule for the second rank supporting attacks is the unit must have the models left to step up. I had an opponent with an Empire Militia 3x5 and I killed 9 on a charge. He claimed he could have his first and second row attack before he removed the models. But, he would not get 10 attacks back, only 6 because that is all he has left to attack back with.