Line of sight? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Line of sight?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    Line of sight?

    Hi,

    I'm wondering a bit about line of sight in 8th edition... I've been told (by GW staff) that a unit only has line of sight in its front arc, but I can't find this anywhere in the BRB. In particular, the section on line of sight only mentions that you must be able to 'trace an unblocked line from its eyes to ... the target' (which IMHO is a bit fuzzy, is this the 180 degree front? what if the model's head is turned slightly, or could you assume that the model could turn his head to give him 360 degree LoS, etc.).

    Now, I know that charging, shooting and magic (generally) is specifically restricted to the front arc. My question is how to handle special cases. As an example:

    In the WoC book, there is a Gift of Chaos, Bloodcurdling Roar, which states that 'During his Shooting phase, the character may choose an unengaged unit in his line of sight. ...' Nowhere does it say that the target must lie within his front arc.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    i am da Wahhchief Digger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    utrecht, Holland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,419
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    320 (x8)

    All i know is that Line of Sight and facing are 2 different concepts in 8 edition.

    A bit of common sense leads me to believe that a model is supposed to see to his front, cus da's where hes goin!
    Models with turned heads an whatnot are just dodgy and i would treat any/all models as if they are facing directly forward even if someone puts the heads on backwards.
    i'm also not willing to determine how far someone could rotate his head, for that will be different for each model and im not a surgeon. Instead i think ill just stick to front arcs...


    Ever done some Live roleplay or reanactment?
    Marching in formation is a bit like driving a car, while using a cellphone. Your sight becomes more like a tunnel and you miss out on the details on your sides
    Eternal Newbie

    Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs

  4. #3
    quik-quik, kill-kill! The bearded one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Karak Rotterdam
    Age
    25
    Posts
    2,651
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    585 (x8)

    I am also a bit fuzzy about this. For example the little magic table with requirements and such for spells says for some types of spells that you need Line of sight, but the target does not necessarily need to lie within his front arc.

    It can be interpreted that the enemy doesn't need to be in the front arc, there simply has to be a clear line of sight to the target without any units or terrain in the way.

  5. #4
    i am da Wahhchief Digger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    utrecht, Holland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,419
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    320 (x8)

    Ok when you misread rules things can get fuzzy quite fast :p

    The table is the other way around: - does not need Line of sight, - must to be in front arc.
    Eternal Newbie

    Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs

  6. #5
    quik-quik, kill-kill! The bearded one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Karak Rotterdam
    Age
    25
    Posts
    2,651
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    585 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Digger View Post
    Ok when you misread rules things can get fuzzy quite fast :p

    The table is the other way around: - does not need Line of sight, - must to be in front arc.
    Ah, now I can pull it on you!!
    "When you misread rules things can get fuzzy quite fast!"

    Augment & hex need Line of Sight, but do not need to lie within the forward arc.

    Direct damage spells are the other way around.

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Svendborg, Denmark
    Age
    28
    Posts
    404
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    28 (x1)

    The Augment and Hex spells dosent need LoS. This is stated in the rulebook erreta.

    Regarding the Line of Sight. Every model now has a front, flank and rear. So if a lone model can trace a line, from the head of the model and in the front arc, to an enemy, then it has Line of Sight.

  8. #7
    quik-quik, kill-kill! The bearded one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Karak Rotterdam
    Age
    25
    Posts
    2,651
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    585 (x8)

    I am finding it odd that both 'Line of Sight', and 'Forward Arc' are mentioned in the table, if 'Forward arc' is a prerequisite and of LoS.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Svendborg, Denmark
    Age
    28
    Posts
    404
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    28 (x1)

    Why is that odd? If you have a wizard that cant see the target, because of terrain or other models, but the target is located in the front arc, then you still can use it.

    If thats what you mean?

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts