Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Specifically about the Pit of Shades and Penumbral Pendulum spells.
Let's say you have a character in (or near) a unit that would normally grant Look Out Sir. The unit's models have a different initiative than the character. The character is hit by one of these spells. Does he get a Look Out Sir at all? If so, is the Look Out Sir roll made before the initiative test, and then use the initiative of whomever the hit is being applied to?
No, characters dont benefit from the, Look Out, Sir!, rule, when being target by a spell which uses templates. Its against shooting attacks only.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
I don't have my BRB with me at the moment, but I'll happily post it tonight.
Actually no need to get my BRB. BRB FAQ, page 5:
Q: Does the ‘Look Out Sir’ special rule apply against all spells that
use templates? (p93)
Sorry for my previous incredulous tone, but I really thought this one was common knowledge and that the original response was just flat wrong.
The, Look Out, Sir!, rule states that a champion uses the rules given, in a different location in the spoken page. And there it states that the only way a character can avoid being hit by a template weapon, is by using the, Look Out, Sir!, rule. There is no clue in the wording that state, this covers templates from spells as well. Only Shooting.
The most important thing is that the correct answer was given, and thus I stand corrected.