Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey, haven't played fantasy in about 7 years and fought one of my first games as Dark Elves tonight. Ended up with a few questions.
1) Can the benefits of cover be claimed against Stand and Shoot (IE an unit on one side of a hill can see part on a unit of archers on the other side of a hill and declares a charge).
2) Hills in general. Hard cover or soft cover?
3) Can the Multiple Shots rule be used in Stand and Shoot(such as Reapter Crossbows)? I see no restrictions on it such as with Volley, but others here have been arguing otherwise.
4) Is the Long Range penalty taken into account in Stand and Shoot?
Last edited by Hockeyman506; September 16th, 2010 at 07:54.
I'm not sure what the BRB says on this, but usually you should just discuss terrain with the opponent before the beginning of the game. Personally I'd say (and this is how our group plays) that if 50% or more of the models are obscured by a hill they get hard cover. However, if they're just standing on the hill, without it blocking LOS or anything, they cannot claim any cover at all (it's not like an area terrain piece like forests or something).2) Hills in general. Hard cover or soft cover?
But, we could be playing that wrong. I'll let others here give you the hard-and-fast since I don't have a BRB here with me at work.I don't know. If it doesn't say so in the Stand-and-Shoot charge reaction section or in the Multiple Shots rules' section that you're limited to 1 shooting attack per model I don't see why not.3) Can the Multiple Shots rule be used in Stand and Shoot(such as Reapter Crossbows)? I see no restrictions on it such as with Volley, but others here have been arguing otherwise.See the anser to #1.4) Is the Long Range penalty taken into account in Stand and Shoot?
[QUOTE=Darguth;1741894]Yes, all normal modifiers for shooting are still applied. You measure range and LOS to the charging unit where they begin the charge, unless they are out of range and the beginning of the charge but will be brought within range at which point you measure and check LOS then. Depending on intervening cover and LOS they may be eligible to claim cover.
I do not have my rulebook in front of me for the exact page, but on a Stand & Shoot you would not apply any modifiers for cover or long range, since it is assumed that those firing would fire at the closest optimum range when the enemy is in full few. And this makes perfect sense because obviously they are charging straight at them and there will be no cover or long distances to apply.
As for multiple shots, it's not entirely clear, but the S&S rules do say "...the units makes a normal, although out of sequence, shooting attack..." - since multiple shots would factor into 'normal' shooting, I see no reason why it couldn't be used.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
"I do not have my rulebook in front of me for the exact page"
Well im checking the book, cant find it :p
Soooo todays lesson, dont give an incorrect rules-statement before checking the book.
The shots are made before the chargers move, even if theyre normally outside shooting range.
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs