Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
For some reason, I thought each wizard can only use his level to add to a dispel attempt once per magic phase. Is this correct? I can't seem to find it in the rules.
yes he can.
only exception is if the wizard breaks his concentration in his dispel attempt.
'Its better to have a swordmaster and not need her help, then to need her help and not have her'
Byjugo's WIP Thread
Further explained on page 35, bottom left+top right.
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs
Yup you can use the same wizzard to dispell as long as you do not roll less than a natural 3+ on your dispell dice or just plain fail to dispell with him/her same for casting spells
For dispelling, nominate a wizard ( or the army ) to dispell, he adds his wizardlevel to the dispell. If he fails to dispell, his concentration breaks and he's despressed or something for the rest of the phase and cannot dispell anymore during that magic phase. If he succeeds in dispelling, he's happy and can still dispell further casting attempts in that magic phase.
you have taken what i wrote completly out of context i am affraid
as with casting a spell if you roll LESS than 3+ so if the total rolled is 1 or 2 then your attempt fails reguardless of modifiers
1 dice cast / dispell will auto fail with roll 1/2
2 dice cast/dispell will auto fail on snake eys
3 or more dice can not auto fail this way as they will always roll 3+ then you take modifers liek wizzard level etc into effect to find out if you where succesful or not
if you fail then the wizzard in question can not attempt to cast or dispell any more this phase and you have to move to the next wizzard / base army for futher attempts
Last edited by draghkar; September 17th, 2010 at 14:31.
I will use an example of what I think is trying the be pointed out. A level 1 wizard casts fireball. He rolls a 4, adds 1 for level for a 5, so the spell goes off. A level 4 wizard tries to dispel, using 2 dice and rolls snake eyes. Even though adding 4 to the 2 gives him 6 which would normally dispel the fireball, since he rolled 2 on the dice, his dispel fails, the fireball goes off, and the level 4 wizard can't try to dispel anything else in that magic phase.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
I had not though of the wizardlevel bonus, good call. You are indeed right 94% of the time.
The way I read his post it was like there were 2 possibilities: rolling lower than 3+ , or failing to dispell. And seeing how rolling lower than 3+ will always mean you failed to dispell anyway it appeared to be saying the same thing twice ( saying "failing to dispell" 2 times ) , which could've been mildly confusing.
Maybe I put too much thought in it..
thanks Sirkently thats exactly what i was trying to say.