Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Does an Overrun! move count as having charged if you make it into CC?
Was in a game over the weekend where I destroyed a unit....overran into another unit and then proceeded to destroy that unit in one turn. After going for my second overrun in a row, my opponent tried to argue that an Overrun does not count as a charge. I let it go because it was not a competitive game, but its been bothering me ever since.
Although this situation is a little bit unusual, and probably wont happen again any time soon, do you guys think the rules allow you to just keep going with the Overruns!? Nasty nasty situation for my opponent, but I did lose the game in the end.
The way it usually works is you overrun the first unit, charging! into the next, but combat doesn't begin untill the next round of combat, because the unit has already attacked, an as such you can't keep overrunning.
Eg. it is the high elf players turn: a unit of ten high elf white lions kill a unit of 5 empire spearmen, the high elf white lions overrun into 10 empire greatswords, nothing happens as of now, but in the empire players combat phase the high elf white lions count as having charged and gets a +1 to combat res.
That means Sir Isaac Newton is the deadliest-son-of-a-bitch in space!
I see what you mean....it makes perfect sense. Thanks for clarifying.
While normally overrun or pursuit into a fresh enemy would not cause another combat that turn, there is a way to get a second combat out of a unit. If the pursuing/overrunning unit joins a combat that has yet to be resolved that turn, they participate in that combat. However, they must automatically restrain pursuit if they win a second combat in one turn. (As per page 58.)
This is why you should choose the order of your combats carefully.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
Overruns that would bring you into combat with a new unit are treated as whole new charge. The charge distance is your 2d6 overrun move.
I believe after you've overrun once you cannot elct to overun again its specifficaly stated you must restrain after this. You may however still be able to ld test for a reform. Pg 58 of the rlebook clearly outlines these rules though.
Last edited by Dwarfman; October 13th, 2010 at 07:53.