Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
A couple of rules questions came up last night.
1. The Eye of the Gods rules has a result that increases the target unit's armor by +1 to no better than a 0+.
The BRB says that no matter how much armor you strap on, the best you can get is a 1+. The BRB also says that army books overrule the BRB when exceptions are found.
So I read that to mean that my Knights of Chaos can actually have a 0+ armor save as the army book would overrule.
It didn't come into play. Just something that I mentioned and we discussed.
2. Lore of Slaanesh, Titillating Delusions. States that a unit "must" in the remaining moves phase make a full and direct move towards a marker.
But that comes after the charge phase.
The BRB says that a unit that's charge, already moved, whatever can't move in the remaining moves phase.
So if a unit under the effect of this spell declares a charge, fails the charge, does it have to move towards the marker?
Would the army book override the BRB?
We played that it didn't because it wasn't worth slowing the game down for, but I'm curious for the future.
"But that comes after the charge phase."
The spell is allready in effect during charges.
In the charge phase you are allowed to declare one, as long as it is in the given direction. And a failed charge is allways in the direction it was intended, right?
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs
Pretty much the consensus on the armour save is you can go to a 0+, but a roll of "1" will always fail. So, having a 0+ will mean that you can get hit with a strength 4 and still basically have a 1+ AS. But, a roll of 1 still fails. I like to look at this as with 0+ you really can get hit with up to ST 5 and have the same armour save, i.e. need to roll a 2 or better to save - quite the bonus!!
The core rules say armour is capped at 1+. So it's capped at 1+.
While you can get combos that effectively mean your armour is 0+ or better, but your armour save is still 1+ so you gain no benefit. WoC was written for the old rules, so you can't select the bits you'd prefer to follow.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
I think the army book overrides the BRB in this case, with the eye of the gods roll.
Also if I remember correctly your only limited to a 1+ armor save if you use a shield, don't know how you could get lower than 1+ without a shield, but its worth mentioning.
Most Notable Achievements:
Killed a Revenant Titan in one shot.
Killed 900 pts worth of Blood Angels in 2 turns while only loosing 4 pts.
This is a quote from the FAQ. Technically, it isn't invalidating the army book, you can have a save better than 1+. You just can't use it.Note that a save of any kind can never be better than 1+. This does not prevent a model having items or special rules that would take the save even lower, it simply caps the saving throw at 1+.
And looking at it another way, you say you have a save of 0 because:
Horse with barding 1+
Eye of the gods 0+.
Now I could say your armour save goes:
Horse with barding 2+
Eye of the gods 1+
Shield 0+ (oops, the rules say the shield won't count now).
As there is no strict order in how AS is calculated, how could you resolve this? That is why I would go with the BRB ruling of it being a 1+ save and the eye of the gods table not helping in this instance.
And on the second question, the unit is now following the rules for compulsory movement. It won't be able to declare a charge.
Last edited by CaptainSarathai; October 9th, 2010 at 03:24.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.