Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
These two topics of disagreement came up in my last game and led to some debate.
First off I'm on front facing of enemy unit that I can see, I have adequate charge range,but can only see the flank of unit and wish to charge. I take it from the rulebook that I'm not able to declare that charge as I'd need to charge front facing. Am I interpreting this correctly?
Second. The 90 degree free wheel move during the charge according to the steps shown in the Rulebook(p20) number the steps 1 to 4 in the diagrams with the 90 degree wheel being step 2 and movement step 3 then the Charger's free Closing the Door move step 4. This is repeated on p22 for unusual situations where the terrain makes chargers closing the door impossible and defender has to,once the charger has come into contact.The rulebook states also on p20 that the unit moves straight ahead but can make a wheel of 90 degree during the move to maximise contact. While both diagrams clearly show a specific sequence for the move chargers phase, the rules as written are open to interpretation that the free wheel can be used any time during the charge. Which of these is the correct sequence for moving chargers?
If you can see any part of the unit you can charge it. You then role your 2d6 for distance charged. Now draw a straight line from your front model to any of there models in the unit. If this distance charged is equal to or greater than there distance is a way, you succeed and would move them directly toward that unit. You get a free wheel once they contact each other to maximize the models in contact and fighting. This changes slightly if theres something in between you and would cause you to have to wheel to get to them around something. If this is the case you need to take into account the wheeling to get to them. But go the shortest distance with your wheel to just contact them then you can use the free movement to line them up and maximize fighting models.
I dont think that you can declare a charge from the front of a unit if their is no possible way your unit can contact their front.
I guess this would happen if a previously engaged unit has a larger frontage than the target unit thus blocking any aditional units joining the fight from the front. I would think you wuold need to move your 2nd unit into the flank before declaring a new charge.
The rules are a littel differant if your charging the same unit with multiple units on the same turn, I belive in that case they move into contact splitting the enemy units frontage evenly between your two units.
Then again I could be wrong. :-p
Nah, you're right. If two units are fighting eachother, front to front, and another unit, which is in the front arc, wishes to charge, there has to be sufficient room for them to make the charge. If they cannot get into contact via the front, they have to spend a turn going into the flank arc, before they can make the charge.