Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, the answer to this is probably out here somewhere, but I haven't been able to find it when searching, so here goes...
My question is whether one should include the front rank when counting ranks for Steadfast?
I don't know if this causes confusion for anyone else, but it has at least puzzled me - probably beacuse of my many years of just counting the ranks behind the front.
As I read the the rules you actually have to include the front, as the rules for Steadfast (BRB 54) say nothing about EXTRA ranks like in the Combat Result Bonus.
'Simply put, a unit is considered to be steadfast if it has more ranks than its enemy. As with calculating extra ranks for the purposes of combat resolution, the ranks have to be five or more models wide for the unit to be treated as being steadfast.'
So 'EXTRA ranks' about Combat resolution and just 'ranks' about steadfast.
As a result: a unit of just 5 goblins is steadfast against everything that does not have a rank itself?
Last edited by Filthor; November 4th, 2010 at 19:04.
for steadfast you count ranks that you have More than the enemy so if they have 2 ranks you need 3 to be steadfast so yes this does count the front rank as if they are 5 models you need to be 10 models etc etc...
Yes, if you have one rank of 5 models or more, and the oppenent doesn't have a rank, you are steadfast. The CR bonus from ranks isn't a factor in this.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
Yup, just as they said. So basically monsters/chariots and such have problems breaking units without flat out murdering them first.
US Master's Midwest Advisor.
Come join me at my GT this September www.brewfestgt.com
Thanks for confirming my fears guys