Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So i ended up like this
I had initally declared charge with my unit of 3. he chooses to flee as a reaction. I then declared a charge with my unit of 5. he is still fleeing. That is all of my declarations of charges therefore it is time to resolve them. The question I have is what direction does the enemy flee from? the larger unit or the one that he choose to flee from first? if either option is correct, then the enemy will be fleeing closer to one of my own units posibly going through them. does he take any dangerous terrain checks as he is fleeing through an enemy unit? that unit he flees through does he still get a chance to catch him? is the distance shorter now as the enemey is running towards me? what about if he runs through me do i turn around and follow, again is the distance shorter, or is it I cant see him anymore therefore cant charge anymore?
So basically how is the process worked out. I know if 6th edition you roll the dice of all your units and the enemeies and if you reach him then they are destoyed immediately and then the question comes what direction do they move. I couldn't find anything like that in the 8th edition rule book.
The order of things is as follows (copied from the box in the BRB page 16):
i. Declare a charge.
ii. Resolve charge reaction.
iii. Go back to step i. until all units you wish to charge have done so.
iv. Move all charging units in any order you like.
You will notice a subtle but very important difference from the old order of things when it comes to resolving charge reactions.
So when the enemy declares a flee reaction when you declare the first charge you move his unit then - BEFORE you declare your next charge. So naturally the direction he flees is away from your first unit.
If you are still in charge range with your next unit then you can declare a new charge and since he is already fleeing he is forced to flee from this charge (remember that with the new rules you can ONLY declare charge if you are within possible charge range, which is normally basic Movement +12'').
After all these reactions have been resolved it is your turn to move the chargers.
If you have him surrounded it is possible that he is actually CLOSER to your first unit now because his second flee move might be longer than the first.
I remember playing 'Ping Pong' with a unit of ogres like this because they were between my Chaos warriors and Knights - great fun =)
You are correct that the fleeing enemy has to take dangerous terrain tests if he flees through your unit of 5. But because of the order of things this second unit will not get the chance to declare a charge since the flee reaction is carried out BEFORE they declare charge and the enemy would obviously be out of their line of sight by then.
In the unlikely situation that he rolled very low for his first flee and then very high for his second, he could end up behind your unit of 3, in which case I reckon that both your units would fail their charge, or your unit of 5 would at least have to make an awkward charge to steer past your unit of 3.
Last edited by Filthor; December 16th, 2010 at 10:54.
for some reason i thought in 8th edition when you decalre a charge on a fleeing unit and you reach them they dont flee again, instead they die immediately. am i wrong thinking this?
If you declare a charge on a fleeing unit, that unit will get another flee move p. 18 BRB(it is not the right place, but it somewhere around there). However, I would think, that if the fleeing unit were forced to flee through an enemy unit, they would die. As I would count it as the first unit catching the fleeing unit.
That means Sir Isaac Newton is the deadliest-son-of-a-bitch in space!
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
You only destroy a unit without it getting another charge reaction is if you overrun into a fleeing unit.
US Master's Midwest Advisor.
Come join me at my GT this September www.brewfestgt.com