Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If 2 units are locked in combat and a fanatic wanders into a unit do both units take hits ?
In our game I was purposly far away from his fanatics which were behind his troops who charged me.
then his fanatic moved into his unit on an angle.
We read the rules that he bounced though causing hits finishing 1" past the big unit of orcs. My opponant said if the fanatic travelled in a streight line it would also hit my unit. so it did and ended up behind me
He lost 3 ORCs, I lost 6 sword Masters and ended up losing the combat and fleeing though the fanatic again as he was now behind me finishing my unit off.
This was a bitter pill to swollow as the fanatic had moved 11" to hit the back of the Orc unit and ended up moving another 9" though both units to end up at the back of me and in among my army - a total move of 20".
When I had been avoiding the fanatics on purpose this seemed harsh - did we play it correctly?
I would say no, it doesn't affect your unit. The extra movement isn't really movement. It is just a convenient way of placing the model back on the table. It would be like the purple sun spell that doesn't affect models it contacts when being moved to find an open spot on the table.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
I would say yes.. Unlike the purple sun, the fanatic rules don't describe something like 'they dont smash units that they move through by bouncing through' Something that is a special rule for the purple sun.
Having fanatics in units behind the front ranks is much used in tournaments. making them bounce through goblin ranks to land on your swordmen even if they roll short.
Note that the goblin killing half your unit doesnt make a difference in the combat phase, since they are done during movement.
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs
I'd also say it would apply to both units, but only one roll should have been made to see how many models were hit by the fanatic, not two seperate ones. This is because when two units go into CC with each other, they don't stand like static blocks lined up and waiting for their turn, there's a swirling melee in which you can barely distinguish friend from foe. This is why you can't shoot into CC, because there's just as much chance you'd hit an ally. The way I see it, the fanatic orbits into the combat, crushes both units equally, then gets shoved out the other side. So yeah, I reckon you played it right, apart from I think you should've only rolled once for the amount of fanatic hits, then applied those hits to both units.
+++XENOS SPOTTED+++ thrilling battles within the Vitorina subsector: http://xenosspotted.blogspot.com/
Thanks guys much apriciated.