HE SM's with Great Weapons. - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Age
    28
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    HE SM's with Great Weapons.

    I was browsing the HE army lists forum and some one noted that High Elves ignore the Always Strikes Last rule with great weapons. I dont think this is true becuase in the rule book it says that if a uni has ASF and ASL they cancel each other out and hit on initiative.

    I was wondering if this is in fact the case, or is there something else I am not considering, with regards to Sword masters?

    One caveat, in the special rules for the HE ASF it says "regardless of the weapon they are weilding" so this means that they do? And since the Army book overrides the rule book, im actually wrong?

    Last edited by ddav6108; December 22nd, 2010 at 15:21.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Lord Admiral kithre's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Iver Heath
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,608
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    220 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by ddav6108 View Post
    I was browsing the HE army lists forum and some one noted that High Elves ignore the Always Strikes Last rule with great weapons. I dont think this is true becuase in the rule book it says that if a uni has ASF and ASL they cancel each other out and hit on initiative.

    I was wondering if this is in fact the case, or is there something else I am not considering, with regards to Sword masters?

    One caveat, in the special rules for the HE ASF it says "regardless of the weapon they are weilding" so this means that they do? And since the Army book overrides the rule book, im actually wrong?

    The FAQ is clear on this, in this instance the rule in teh High Elf army book overrides the BRB, so that all High Elves strike with ASF rules. This is indeed teh "regardless of weapon wielded" clause..

  4. #3
    Member ForgottenKnight2001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    132
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Yeah, because of the wording in the HE book stating "regardless of weapon", they fight with ASF, and because of their high initiative, probably hate you too.

  5. #4
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    You might want to check the dates on a thread before replying. This was from last year, meaning that you've committed Threadomancy.
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  6. #5
    Member ForgottenKnight2001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    132
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Sorry, I'll make sure to double check the dates before posting.

  7. #6
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    *FACEPALM*

    Oh snap, its only from December of last year... disregard.

    (Though I swear its the most commonly asked WHFB question for some reason.)
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  8. #7
    The Future realitycheque's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Bedford, UK
    Age
    37
    Posts
    4,848
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    403 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by psichotykwyrm View Post
    *FACEPALM*

    Oh snap, its only from December of last year... disregard.
    It's still 4 months old, which is pretty decomposed

    (Though I swear its the most commonly asked WHFB question for some reason.)
    Because people read "regardless of weapon" and assume that can't possibly include GW
    My Deathwatch Campaign
    Furious Angels: (SM) W22, D1, L9 (BA) W15, D0, L3 | Sentinels of Saphery (HE) W3, D0, L0

  9. #8
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    I've seen where people have referenced the HE FAQ while asking this question. Really, this has to be one of the simplest rules queries to handle, as the rule in question can't be any clearer.

    Yet this same thing pops up quite regularly.

    That fact might just be useful though. I think its a very representative case as to the source of many rules issues (At least those where the rules are in fact clear). It seems that with high frequency, players are not absorbing the full content and context of rules as they read them; or they just really, really hope the rule will work differently.
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts