Special weapons and shields - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member ashen1973's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Portsmouth, England
    Posts
    234
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    33 (x1)

    Special weapons and shields

    Hi
    I've recently returned to WHFB after a very long time away and trying to get my head around all of the 8th edition rules.
    I think I have the situation regarding special weapons right, but would appreciate some clarification.

    As I understand the current rule, if a unit has a special weapon they must use it in combat.
    for example
    Lizardman Temple Guard have hand weapon, Halberd and shield.
    So, they must use the Halberd.

    Using this example would it be correct to say that they only get the benefit from the shield when defending against non-closecombat attacks?

    As an example
    Temple Guard are advancing upon an enemy unit but not yet in any close-combat.
    During the enemies shooting phase the TG get the -1 to armour save from the shield.
    The TG then charge the enemy, now in close-combat they switch to their halberds and lose the shields defensive benefit.

    Would this be correct?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member Filthor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Copenhagen
    Age
    36
    Posts
    115
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    30 (x1)

    That would be correct yes =)

  4. #3
    Member ashen1973's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Portsmouth, England
    Posts
    234
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    33 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Filthor View Post
    That would be correct yes =)
    Thanks

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Birmingham, England
    Age
    35
    Posts
    505
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    29 (x2)

    you would still get its bouns armour save but you lose the parry save due to special wepaon or at leats thats how its played at my local GW

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Århus, Denmark
    Age
    25
    Posts
    275
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    31 (x1)

    The halberd has the special rule requires two hands, and that rule specifically states that you cannot use a shield with it, so the model of course cannot.

    Requires two hands is found on page 75 top left column
    Halberd is found on page 90 top right column

    I'm unsure whether or not you can use it when not in close combat, on the other hand why would it be there if you couldn't.

    And I do know that the BRB is 8th and the armybook is 7th and that they don't agree due to this.
    That means Sir Isaac Newton is the deadliest-son-of-a-bitch in space!

  7. #6
    Member ashen1973's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Portsmouth, England
    Posts
    234
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    33 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Lasso290391 View Post
    The halberd has the special rule requires two hands, and that rule specifically states that you cannot use a shield with it, so the model of course cannot.

    Requires two hands is found on page 75 top left column
    Halberd is found on page 90 top right column

    I'm unsure whether or not you can use it when not in close combat, on the other hand why would it be there if you couldn't.

    And I do know that the BRB is 8th and the armybook is 7th and that they don't agree due to this.
    Thanks for mentioning this rule, i hadnt found that in the rule book.
    Just looked it up (in 8th edition rules) and it actually specifically states that you CAN use a shield against shooting or magic attacks, even if using a 2-handed weapon.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Birmingham, England
    Age
    35
    Posts
    505
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    29 (x2)

    yup your right when weilding a 2h i forgot Helbard was 2h although 1h Special's would grant the bonus armour all the same but still only gain Parry from non-special CCW + Shield

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts