Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The new Orc and Goblin book has a couple of items that bestow poison attacks.
The Spider Banner and the little Waaagh spell Gift of the Spider God' both give the unit poisoned attacks. Both also say that if the unit already has poisoned attacks then they will automatically wound on To Hit rolls of 5 or 6.
Talking to a few friends last night it was asked if these effects stack. i.e if you gave the Spider Banner to a unit of Spider Riders (making them poison on 5+) would casting the Gift spell make them poison on 4+?
my own opinion was that it would not, it would stay at 5+.
My argument was that both the banner and spell specifically say 'will automatically wound on To Hit rolls of 5 or 6' they do not say reduces the amount required to auto hit by 1 or similar.
Also, if they did stack you could take it even further (for instance Spider Riders, within a Venom Thicket, with Spider Banner and Gift of the Spider God auto hitting on 3+)
Sounds like an errata/faq question already LOL, but your logic seems sound and I would be inclined to agree with you.
"For Plunder and Women!"
Bretonnians 7500, Empire 3300, Dwarfs 4800; Space Marines 2000, Tyranids 3000
If the unit already has poisoned attacks then they get a boost to that, nowhere does it say it stacks and nowhere does it say you can boost it more than once - anyone trying to force that matterin a game is being a rude little beardy really
Fantasy: Wood Elves, Dark Elves, Beastmen and Tomb Kings.
LotR: Misty Mountains and Rohan
It doesn't say it is not cumulative so I would say yes... But it needs clarification.
Brokendoll Miniature Painting - (Coming Soon)
Muse2k8's Painting Antics (WIP and Finished Models thread)
The rule explicitly says that if the unit already has poison, than it poisons on 5+ instead of 6+. While it seems logical that you could keep stacking it with multiple rules and items, the rules do not say that. They say it goes from 6+ to 5+ and while it is logical in the extreme to say another poison bonus brings that to 4+ and then 3+ etc, the rule just does not say that. It only says you go to 5+, so that's all you can do. The only rule that stacks indefinately as far as I'm aware is the mark of Tzeentch that stacks with any wardsave, regardless of what that save is.
It says you poison on 5+ instead, so that's exactly what you do.
Sometimes you just have to leave logic at home and follow the rule to the letter.