Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If someone could help me out with this one it would be great. My boss (I work for a gaming store) recently played (*cough, and lost to) me. Anyway, a big row broke out in which he called me and idiot et catera because I supposedly mis- quoted the rules. I said that range for spells is measured AFTER a dispel attempt has been made. I am pretty sure this is correct but I need some backup to prove him wrong. Here's the thing though, he called some of his GW buds and they all told him he was correct, that you measure for range before you decide whether you need to dispel it with dice or scroll, and if the spell is out of range it just fails. Unfortunately I don't have his unwavering faith in some of the US's GW personel so I came to this forum to figure it out once and for all. I need some people with good credentials to answer this so he doesn't just think it's BS. Thanks in advance...
Fire in the Blood, Fire in the Belly
You are indeed correct. Straight out of the BRB,you
2nd:either the spell fails,or you make it
3rd:if the spell made it,you can attempt to dispell it
4th: measure range. If the spell is out of range,all dice involved in the spell are lost.
Those storeowners and experts are more stupid then me when it comes to me :rolleyes:
Would be unfair that you would get to measure before dispel, should be able to measure before casting then too.
Yeah,and this boss of yours seems like a real *****. He asks to play a game with you and then accuses you of cheating when you lost? Ive never heard any player resort to that level of childish sore losing,and my opponents are usually teenagers,not my boss!
Abbadon is right. This is also addressed in the Q&A:
Chronicles 2004, p. 115, "Magic", 18th question (middle column of page, near bottom).
"Q: When do you measure range for spells?
A: Once the spell is cast. If you're out of range, you have wasted the Power and/or Dispel dice."
There's your backup! Unfortunately, the guy's your boss so it's probably not a great idea to tell him who the REAL idiot is!!!
And you're right about the GW employees. Good guys...mean well...typically not rules experts. Try to get your hands on the 2003 & 2004 Chronicles as well as the 2002 Annual. They have good explanatory articles as well as Q&As. I find the DireWolf FAQ is another good source for rules clarifications:
Frank in L.A.