Ongoing challenge between single models, and chariot impact hits. - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member Maximus-Prime's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Groningen, the Netherlands
    Age
    31
    Posts
    555
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    101 (x3)

    Ongoing challenge between single models, and chariot impact hits.

    I had an idea, but I couldn't find out if it was legal/possible. So now I'm here.

    The situation:
    My Chaos lord of Tzeentch on a Disc charges a Greater Daemon.
    We fight a Challenge (I have to challenge due to being WoC), but neither one dies or flees.

    The trixy part: I have Glaive of Putrifaction, meaning the Greater Daemon has his STR and T lowered after I wounded him (I did).

    In my next turn, I charge one or two Chariots into the combat.
    Can they do impact hits on that single model if he is in a continuing challenge?

    I know the crew/horses can't hit him because people in a challenge can't have any attacks directed at them (page 70 something of the BR.

    But impact hits, being distributed as shooting attacks, are not "attacks" or "directed" at him.

    Am I pushing it with this one?

    My WoC assembly/paint log! check it out. UPDATED 03-11-'11!
    Check out my guide on how to make Treekin.
    Please feel free to correct my spelling.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member Maximus-Prime's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Groningen, the Netherlands
    Age
    31
    Posts
    555
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    101 (x3)

    no one?

    I discussed it with the local veterans, and they don't know either.
    My WoC assembly/paint log! check it out. UPDATED 03-11-'11!
    Check out my guide on how to make Treekin.
    Please feel free to correct my spelling.

  4. #3
    i am da Wahhchief Digger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    utrecht, Holland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,419
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    320 (x8)

    right. tough one, here's my take on it

    "They cannot be attacked by any other model for that round of cc" p. 102 fighting a challenge.
    "impact hits are close combat attacks..." p. 71 last phrase.

    The chariot would have to attack the model which is in a challenge, that's not allowed.
    I'd say the chariot does not do impact hits, because even though it is distributed as shooting, there's no legal target to make his attacks against.
    Eternal Newbie

    Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs

  5. #4
    Senior Member sirkently's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,361
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    494 (x8)

    Here is my take. As you mention, they are distributed like shooting. If there aren't 5 or more rank and file models, the character can be hit. IIRC, there was actually an FAQ in 7th edition, that said you could hit the character in this situation.

    SirKently
    I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Age
    30
    Posts
    46
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    0 (x0)

    Quote Originally Posted by sirkently View Post
    there was actually an FAQ in 7th edition
    Yet, as you know, the current edition is the 8th. I would side with Digger and agree that since the model is involved in a challenge, no other action can be taken against him until the challenge is resolved.

  7. #6
    Member Maximus-Prime's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Groningen, the Netherlands
    Age
    31
    Posts
    555
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    101 (x3)

    Thanks guys!

    For now I'll not try to pull this one, but I'll mail GW nontheless.

    I'll post the reply here, if I get any.
    My WoC assembly/paint log! check it out. UPDATED 03-11-'11!
    Check out my guide on how to make Treekin.
    Please feel free to correct my spelling.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts