Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I had an idea, but I couldn't find out if it was legal/possible. So now I'm here.
My Chaos lord of Tzeentch on a Disc charges a Greater Daemon.
We fight a Challenge (I have to challenge due to being WoC), but neither one dies or flees.
The trixy part: I have Glaive of Putrifaction, meaning the Greater Daemon has his STR and T lowered after I wounded him (I did).
In my next turn, I charge one or two Chariots into the combat.
Can they do impact hits on that single model if he is in a continuing challenge?
I know the crew/horses can't hit him because people in a challenge can't have any attacks directed at them (page 70 something of the BR.
But impact hits, being distributed as shooting attacks, are not "attacks" or "directed" at him.
Am I pushing it with this one?
right. tough one, here's my take on it
"They cannot be attacked by any other model for that round of cc" p. 102 fighting a challenge.
"impact hits are close combat attacks..." p. 71 last phrase.
The chariot would have to attack the model which is in a challenge, that's not allowed.
I'd say the chariot does not do impact hits, because even though it is distributed as shooting, there's no legal target to make his attacks against.
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs
Here is my take. As you mention, they are distributed like shooting. If there aren't 5 or more rank and file models, the character can be hit. IIRC, there was actually an FAQ in 7th edition, that said you could hit the character in this situation.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.