Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
ok this should be a very basic rule but i am so confused by it
if my unit (A) if feeing and it is charged by another unit ( what happens
does my unit get to make a flee reaction or do they just stay there and get cut down if caught.
this is because both of these rules make so sence:
i was playing against skaven and he charged my chaos warriors. i won the combat and his unit fleed. as he was close to the table i decided not to persue but they rolled double 1 for there flee roll. when my turn came i realised that my chaos warhound which had come back from rallying a few turns ago although no where near his feeing unit could see them. i therefore declared a charge with them forcing him to make a flee roll and running of the table.
however the other day i was playing vampire counts and my chaos knight lost combat against his gouls (from combat res due to killing my marauders) my knights got away but it was his next turn and he delcared a charge on my knights. i thought i got a flee roll but he was saying the rules state that if ur unit is fleeing then they dont get to make a charge reaction. They just stay there and if caught they r destroyed.
which 1 is right, the 1st one wld be the most obvious rule but i cant find anywhere in the rulebook where it says i get to make a flee reaction but GW does have a habit of hidding these things
thanks for any help
you'r unit most continue to flee. I think it stands so somewhere in the rulebook but I don't have it here at the moment but they must make a flee reaction.
hope it helps!
in the rulebook, in the 'Charge' section, under 'Flee!' (page 17)
''a Flee! reaction is not always voluntary - units that are already fleeing must declare a Flee! reaction, ..... "
If a fleeing unit is charged in this manner and caught then it is destroyed.
Ashen1973 has answered the question. But I have another issue here. You stated your warhounds were "no where near his fleeing unit." Before you can declare a charge, you actually have to be able to get there. So the unit charged will have to be within 12" + MV.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
the rules are actualy very wierd in this
under "flee!" it says a unit already fleeing must make a flee reaction
however under "charging a fleeing unit" it doesnt mention anything about making a flee reaction and just states that if the unit that makes a charge against a fleeing unit then the unit is destroyed but nothing about the unit having to make a flee reaction
and yes u r right i cldnt have made that charge reaction although not that it wld had made much difference in the game as the unit had like 20 skaven left and it wld have been rallying on like 5 or 4
thanks for ur help
dont mock 4 or 5 rolls night goblins manage it in glorious style
The only times I can think of off the top of my head that fleeing units are automatically cut down is if a unit overruns into them or they're hit by a unit that has random movement