Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This came up at a game over the weekend and I was asked (as a neutral observer) to make a decision on a rule.
To me it was pretty clear cut but I wanted to be sure I dealt with it correctly.
Player one cast pit of Shades onto player 2's unit containing a Goblin Big Boss (base initiative 3).
The Big Boss was equipped with the Gold Sigil Sword.
Player 2 stated that the sword gave him Initiative 10 and this was the figure used for the check (obviously, if this was the case, impossible to fail).
Player 1 stated that the sword only gives initiative 10 for close combat attacks made by the sword.
As the rule says 'Attacks from the Gold Sigil Sword are made at initiative 10' I think its pretty clear that player 1 is correct and the bonus is not used for initiative checks.
As much as I would love the opposite to be true (I'm an O+G player and Pit of Shades is devestating against my mainly low initiative army) I don't believe it is.
I think you handled it right.
The exact wording of the gold sigil sword is enough to clarify this.
But if you carry a great weapon, would your strength be +2 during a strength test? (the rulings of the GW doesn't say 'attacks from blahblah count as blahblah'
'Its better to have a swordmaster and not need her help, then to need her help and not have her'
Byjugo's WIP Thread
sorberec is right.
The Gold Sigil Sword states that "attacks are made with this weapon at Initiative 10" (paraphrased). It does not grant I10.
And even then, auto-failure on 6s.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
Thank you for the replies. I was sure it was handled correctly but its always good to get clarification.
I had another question along those lines. I agree with the current answer about the sigil sword, but the fencers blades are worded that the character carrying them HAS WS 10, not strikes at WS 10. I play Vampire Counts and this makes a huge difference with the Helm of Commandment. My friends and I agree that the way it is worded means that I can pass off my WS of 10 but I just want to get some more opinions.
According to the FAQ you are entirely correct.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.