Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Dual tournament coming up and me (WoC) will be playing with my friend who plays VC. Since we are trusted allies, i can place my characters in his units.
Reading through his VC book, came up with 3 questions:
1 - Would vampiric power Ghoulkin work with my Exalted hero in his ghoul unit?
This power says 'your units of Crypt Ghouls (and accompanying characters) may make a march move before the game.'
Doesnt specify that the characters should be undead, so i reckon my exalted hero would benefit?
2 - Can my friend cast Vanhels Danse Macabre on that same unit and would the unit including my exalted hero benefit from the spell?
Text says 'spell can be cast on a friendly Undead unit' and
A - 'it (the unit) can immediately make a move of..."; or
B - if engaged in close combat 'all models in the unit benefit from ASF'
3 - What would happen if the unit loses combat? Does my exalted take a breaktest and the ghouls use the special lose models rule?
So... a lot of questions, hope you guys can help me out here! Thanks in advance!
Last edited by Lentheman; April 21st, 2011 at 21:06.
1 & 2 - I'd say yes, as it does say "accompanying characters" for Q1 and characters are part of a unit for Q2.
3 - Ask the tournament organiser. Nothing in the VC rules were intended to cover this situation. While undead aren't unbreakable, they do come close (and characters couldn't normally join those units)
With events, it's always best to check with the guy who is in charge of the event. It's his opinion that counts...not ours.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
See the vampire counts errata, undead=unstable+unbreakable in 8th ed.
So, while you are trusted allies, you can't join his units with non unbreakable and unstable characters, as per the rulebook.
However, there is no rule stopping unbreakable/unstable characters joining your units, but neither rule then applies to them, as the unit is not unstable or unbreakable, so eg they run with the unit and don't crumble.
Thanks for the replies guys!