Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Thought I'd query this as it seems far too good to be true.
(Note: applies to all armies, just using DE as an example)
"If a character has taken a chariot as a mount, the WHOLE model is treated as having the troop type 'CHARIOT' and follows ALL the rules for characters and chariots....otherwise follows all the rules for ridden monsters."
Warhammer Rulebook Page 105.
"Mount - Cold One Chariot (Replacing one crew)."
Dark Elf Army Book Page 91.
"Split Profile - The crew and beast use their own WS, S, I and A characteristics when they attack.....The W, T and Armour Saves of the crew and beasts are NEVER used - hits are resolved against the CHARIOT'S W, T and Armour Save."
Warhammer Rulebook Page 86
Rules As Read - The Chariot mounted character counts as a crew member, has the unit type "Chariot", follows ALL the rules for the unit type "Chariot", ergo the character uses the Chariots T, W and Armour save.
Shooting/magic hits against him are randomised, he and the chariot are BOTH automatically hit by templates if it touches the chariot's base and opponents can attack him (using his WS) OR the Chariot (using the chariot "base" WS) in combat because of the additional rules for "Ridden Monsters", however, because he is unit type "Chariot" he still uses the Chariot T characteristic as stated in the rules for the unit type "Chariot".
This would make a Dreadlord/Master on Chariot Toughness 5 with 4 Wounds and +1 to his save, with randomising hits etc as per the rules of Ridden Monsters. That is what the BRB and AB says. I've asked plenty of people, fellow gamers and GW staff alike and they all agree with this. However I'm still having a few doubts about this so I thought I'd bring it up to a wider audience.
I've been told to just make the most of this "lapse"/"vagueness" of the rules and to enjoy it until GW nerf it. Does that seem fair enough? It's not exactly "overpowered" after all.
Not sure how you're managing to misread this. Taking a chariot as a mount is treated in the same way as taking a monstrous mount. The character replaces one crew model but he doesn't become one of the crew.
If you're attacking a character on a chariot it's against their own characteristics, just as if you are attacking a character riding a monster like a dragon - a character riding a Dragon doesn't become T6 and doesn't gain extra wounds. Likewise, if you put all your attacks on the character and do excess wounds you don't remove the chariot in the same way that you don't remove the monster if you put all the attacks on the rider and do excess wounds.
The chariot is a seperate entity and the only benefits the character derives is the bonus to their armour save for being mounted and the extra movement for being on the chariot. The crew and beasts of a chariot use the chariot's T and W value because they don't have any of their own under the split profile.
The only mount option that gives characters any boost to their stats are monstrous cavalry mounts, which a lot of Hero level characters can take and gain an extra wound from as Monstrous Cavalry always use the highest wounds value from the profiles of the parts.
So it is indeed my bad. My bad then.
My confusion comes from the part where it states; "If a character has taken a chariot as a mount, the WHOLE model is treated as having the troop type 'CHARIOT' and follows ALL the rules for characters and chariots....otherwise follows all the rules for ridden monsters."
I've been interpreting it wrongly then, thought it was too good to be true.
As far as I'm aware the chariot is still its own entity in the same way as an Arch Lector on the War Altar - although I'll reserve making a more definitive decision until next month when the new book is out.