Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok so was rereading the skaven book (since i have a game against them coming up). And I was hoping for some clarification on the strength in numbers rule.
now ive heard people interpret this two different ways. Say you have a unit of 30 clanrats (ld5) in a 3x5 formation. Some people would say they would get +3 (since a unit in combat can never has more than a +3 bonus) and some would say they get +5 (since they have 5 ranks). Which is it?
so here is the rule in the skaven book p33:
"All units in the skaven army add their current rank bonus to their leadership value for any leadership based test.... If for any reason a skaven unit loses its rank bonus it also loses its leadership bonus" There is no significant clarification of this in the skaven FAQ (which still uses the pharse rank bonus. thanks GW)
So i next went to the Big red book and can NOT for the life of me find the words "rank bonus" anywhere to clarify, not in the combat section, not in the forming units section, nowhere (a casualty in wording from the old edition). The best I can find is this:
Extra ranks: "if a units formation is at least 5 models wide you can claim a bonus of +1 combat result for each extra rank of five or more models behind the fighting rank at the end of the fight, up to a maximum of +3. "
I would probably side with the interpretation that there is a limit and here is why (its not just cuz im not a skaven palyer). since there is now no definition of "rank bonus" the best we can do is go with the extra ranks rule which specifies a max of +3. you could come back and say that it says "+1 combat result" and so the cap should be ignored however my counter to that would be that no where else is there any other rule to substitute present so per the skaven rule book you have to treat it as. Also as an aside it just seems like it would be ridiculous for a unit of 45 slaves to have a ld 10.
So I ask your opinion. Which is it and why?
The discussion has been before. Here's what i remember:
On the page you mention (52, combat results) there is a summary of the combat bonuses.
we determine the combat result by adding up the following bonuses:" "
Extra Ranks is one of the listed bonuses. Again in this paragraph it's confirmed that it is fact the/a bonus.
Now that is no confirmation, BUT
It's the only available reference to a bonus involving ranks. Simply counting 6 ranks has nothing to do with a bonus, but combat results as listed on page 52 are a bonus as confirmed in the book.
So i agree with your interpretation
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs