Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So our local gaming club has someone that 'thinks' that this is a perfectly legit use of the rules on charging. Personally I call BS but I'm open to ideas, I have tried to ascii sketch the situation as it is better than trying to explain it in words.
Scenario: Unit B declares a charge at unit A... Unit A is currently in the front arc of unit B so it must charge the front. Ok, but the rules state that unit B is entitled to 1 free 90 degree wheel move to help 'close the door' as it were. Unit B moves straight forward until it touches unit A in the front (only just though) it then uses its 90 degree wheel to position itself on the flank of unit A.
Now I'm sure this is not a legal move, but he insists that the rules don't state that you can not use this wheel to hit the flank, only that you must charge the arc he started in, which he did, he just wheeled afterwards.
I hope this makes sense. If anyone can please point me to a section in the rules that I can show him to prove how idiotic this move is, I would be very grateful.
Last edited by lexicanium; May 18th, 2011 at 21:09.
The side you are charging is determined at the moment the charge is declared (even before that), as explained on page p.21. Wheeling after the declarations can be done, but they don't change the fact he is charging the front.
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs
I have read the section you mentioned. Trouble is, he mantains that he DID charge the front of the unit, but then wheeled to hit a flank because it says 'you may use this wheel in order to place your unit wherever you like against the facing of the unit being charged'. I know you're right and he is wrong but he is really adament that it is a legal move and the problem is other people are starting to listen to him :/
As Digger posted, the side you charge is determined before any rolls or movement is made.
You can in no-way use your 90degree wheel to hit a flank in this manner.
Its all right there in the charge rules.
p20 - '....may make a single wheel of up to 90 degrees. You are free to make this wheel to place your unit wherever you like against the facing of the enemy that is being charged.'
p21 - 'A charging units position when the charge is declared determines whether it charges into the front, flank or rear of the enemy unit'
p21 -'Whether a charging unit is in the front, flank or rear of its intended target is determined before charges are declared,....'
Last edited by ashen1973; May 18th, 2011 at 21:51.
Ill see if this does the trick, thanks guys. Appreciated!
The first free wheel is specifically provided and must be used to "bring as many models into base contact with the enemy as possible, from both sides!" (page 20.)
if moving in accordance with this rule, he cannot move the unit in such a way as to barely clip the edge of an opposing unit so that he can use the bonus second wheel to swing his unit around to the flank of your unit.
The second free wheel is simply to tidy up the lines and to close a normally small gap.
Last edited by Sidewinder; July 11th, 2011 at 05:53. Reason: to fix vBulletin's edits and remove silly face vBulletin inserted