Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
my friend used a goblin unit with 5 fighting characters in front and his command + hes lvl 4 in the second rank, can i attack hes lvl 4 mage then or can i just attack one of hes characters.
second question, if he got 20 goblins + 6 characters who do i shoot on the unit or do i randomise or do i shoot characters.
thank you for reading this
an army that seeks to fight without the protection of the eagle claws is clearly courageous or inept. either way, í wish no part in it - Eolaran Greyhawk, Seamaster.
You cannot attack the Lvl4 in the second rank in close-combat, but, as soon as a spot becomes available in the front rank (either by a character or command model being killed) he must move the lvl 4 into the front rank.
second question - it depends on what you are firing. Normal shooting (i.e Bows, javelins) are aimed at the unit, so you just attack the normal Goblins no matter how many characters are in the front rank.
Anything with a template hits whatever is under the template, character or normal goblin (champions and characters get a 'look out sir!' roll to try and avoid it)
Some attacks have the 'Sniper' special rule, with this you choose exactly which model you want to attack. Characters/Champions targetted this way do not get the look out sir roll.
But the wizard can't cast anything from the second rank right?(unless he has a special rule of course).
'Its better to have a swordmaster and not need her help, then to need her help and not have her'
Byjugo's WIP Thread
The wizard can cast from the second rank just as if he was in the first (although there may be LOS issues)
This hiding in the second rank is a tactic widely used to protect wizards. only the most recent FAQ has watered it down somewhat, as now you have to move characters to the front rank as soon as you are able (before, once a character was in the rear ranks, either from stacking other characters in the front, moving during a reform or refusing a challenge, they could stay there for the rest of the game)
So relating to this - if a front rank character is killed at initiative 6, does the wizardhave to move into the front right then, so he can be attacked by characters with initiative 5, or does he only move up after the combat round as finished?
The careful application of terror is a form of communication in itself - Zutta Law #4.
I am going to start by saying that the original question related a situation that isn't legal. You can't have 5 characters in the front and the command and wizard in the second rank. All command models must be in the front rank. Then fill with characters and move any excess to the back rank.
As for the lasted question, yes the wizard would move to the front rank and could be attacked, as soon as a spot opened up for him.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
The FAQ describes how to deal with characters in the front rank dying and characters moving forward.
Q: Usually models are removed from the rear rank in combat when
slain. However if a model has to be removed from a fighting
rank as there are no others to replace them – for example a unit
champion or character – will another model immediately fill the
Q: Must a character be moved to the front rank of a unit as soon
as a space becomes available? (p100)