Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok this is gonna seem silly as my friend and I have played about 9 or 10 games now. We have always played that if a wizard is in combat he cannnot cast spells. I cant remember where we got that from. The other day i was browsing another forum and someone mentioned that a wizard can still cast even if hes in combat as the rule book makes no mention that he cant.
So my question is can a wizard still cast certain spells if he is engaged in combat?
Most spells can be cast as normal while the wizard is engaged in combat.
Magic Missiles cannot though, (see pg 31 of BRB, under their descriptiion)
I would say that Magical vortex spells that have to be placed touching the caster and are prohibited from directly targeting engaged units cannot though, as it would be impossible to place the template without touching the engaged unit. This is a point of debate though.
Check the chart on page 508. Magic missiles and vortex spells could be difficult to cast in combat because they need line of sight. Everything else will work fine.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
Magic missiles are actually non-castable if the wizard is in combat, even if you manage to obtain LOS. (pg 31 of the rulebook 'magic missiles can not be cast at all if the Wizard (or his unit) are in close combat)
I don't see where vortexes would have any issues casting in combat since they are placed in base with the wizard then sent on their way. Of course the wizard would be able to see his feet right?
I dream of a day when a chicken can cross the road without anyone questioning its intentions.