3d6 taking lowest/highest conflict - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Favored of Tzeentch Viktor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Sigtuna, Sweden
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,140
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My Spotify

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    129 (x8)

    3d6 taking lowest/highest conflict

    Basically, is there a way prescribed in the rulebook or FAQ that tells us how to handle two conflicting cases of "take 3d6 and drop the lowest/highest"? There are two possible ways as I see it, either you roll the normal number of dice and say they cancel each other out, or you roll 4d6 and remove the lowest AND the highest roll. Anyone know where I can find these rules?

    Warhammer Fantasy: Warriors of Chaos, High Elves
    Warhammer 40k: Eldar, Space Marines, Orks

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Braidwood, IL
    Posts
    246
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    45 (x1)

    I think it's against the rules to state specifically where in the rules, but if it say's roll 3d6 and then drop the lowest/highest you have to do just that. Roll 3 dice and drop the lowest or highest. If you were to roll 4d6 it would say so. Most rules are resolved by rolling against a given stat with 2d6.

  4. #3
    Favored of Tzeentch Viktor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Sigtuna, Sweden
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,140
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My Spotify

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    129 (x8)

    It is not against the rules to give a rulebook reference, no one could use that without owning the rulebook anyway.

    You should read my question again. Let me give an example: The dark elf magic item Crystal of Midnight makes an enemy Wizard take a leadership test on 3d6 and remove the lowest die or lose a spell. If that mage had the high elf item Gem of Courage allowing the bearer to take a Ld-test on 3d6 and remove the highest, how would that leadership test be resolved?
    Warhammer Fantasy: Warriors of Chaos, High Elves
    Warhammer 40k: Eldar, Space Marines, Orks

  5. #4
    Senior Member sirkently's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,361
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    494 (x8)

    Roll 4D6 and drop both the lowest and highest. It is in the FAQ.

    SirKently
    I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.

  6. #5
    Favored of Tzeentch Viktor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Sigtuna, Sweden
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,140
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My Spotify

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    129 (x8)

    Which FAQ is that? I can't find it in the Rulebook FAQ.
    Warhammer Fantasy: Warriors of Chaos, High Elves
    Warhammer 40k: Eldar, Space Marines, Orks

  7. #6
    Senior Member sirkently's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,361
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    494 (x8)

    Lizardmen FAQ, first question. Not an exact match to your question, but it follows along nicely and should apply to your particular question as well.

    SirKently
    I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts