Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So I know that the Ogre book isn't out just yet, but for those of us who picked up the new WD and got a look at our new monsters I have a question that I imagin will probably come up. So I take a thundertusk and charge into or am charged by a unit of HE swordmasters or any unit armed with GW. So acording to the rules their AsF army rule and my AsL special rule will cancle out and the HE will be left striking at I and without their re-roll to hit. My question is that because our ASF and ASL have now been cancled out dose that mean that the swordmasters will now be subject to the rules for GW's, meaning that they will strike last in combat. I have a feeling that this will be debated both ways and in the end we'll have to wait for a FAQ to settle things for sure but now dose seem a good time to start talking about it.
Probably strike at I1 and will not get their re-rolls except against zombies
They'll strike at their initiative, since that is what its says you do when the two rules cancel each other out. You can't "double up" always strikes last, which is what you seem to be doing.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
It's been FAQed, ASF overrules ASL in the HE book so Swordmasters and all GW-armed models in the army strike first and get to reroll misses if their initiative is at least equal to that of the target.
Hope it helps,
I misread the question, I beg your pardon. Upon rereading it I'd say I agree with Rork.
so if my thundertusk charges the high elves with GW the high elves still strike first? personally i would of thought the asl would cancel out always strikes first then the weapons would come into play with the HE having GW they would strike last in my opinion
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
Huh?? Always strikes first means you strike first, Always strikes last means you strike last. How do those logically cancel out? To me they seem to agree with each-other. HE strike, than the Thundertusk.
'And you'll save me a leg if yer know wot's good for you.'-O+G E8, P38
I think you may be confusing what units are affected by the rules.
The Thundertusk gives the Elves Always Strike Last, however the elves already have Always Strike First. In this case the Elves strike in initiative order and hence strike first without any re-rolls as they have a higher initiative (I'm fairly sure they're faster stat-wise than a Thundertusk...).
"Take their gold, burn their homes, kill their familes and enslave their souls. Show them no mercy...oh and could you post these letters while you're out?"
-Malekith, Witch King of Naggaroth.