Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The High Magic spell "Drain Magic" can be used to force the opponent's mages to discard power dice scoring 4s/5s/6s when casting spells.
You can dispel "Remains In Play" spells using power dice in your own magic phase.
The question is, does drain magic affect these dispel attempts as well? :unsure:
Depending on how the spell actually reads, (don't have the book), then anytime he uses a power dice and it rolls a 4/5/6, it's discarded, regardless of how that powerdice is used.
Would think it's a bit of rulebending if you dont let him dispel with powerdice, think you should be allowed to do that without getting them discarded.
Like I said, depends on the wording in the book. If it says 'power dice in his casting phase that are over a 4/5/6 are to be discarded', then obviously it wouldn't. If it just says 'power dice' then yes. If it says 'dice in his magic phase', then it wouldn't.
I don't have the book at hand but IIRC it says all power and dispel dice that roll a 4/5/6 will be discarded, so to me this is saying that he can use his dice but if he rolls any of those then the spell takes effect.
Directly from the HE army book:
"Whenever the victim rolls to cast a spell, discard and rolls of 6/5/4 (depending on the level of the spell) before calculating the casting value of the roll."
Therefore, it does not affect dispel attempts!
The iron crowned is getting closer,
Swings his hammer down on him,
Like a thunderstorm he's crushing,
Down the Noldor's proudest king.
Under my foot, so hopeless it seems.
You've troubled my day, now feel the pain.
- Blind Guardian
Ta-da. Aren't rulebooks great?
Ah, well there's your answer. I wasn't sure, and was too lazy to go and get my book from downstairs...
Yeah, thought so, but wasn't too sure. Thanks lads.