Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have abit of a dilemma. In the BRB, the amount of points alloted to each unit choice (Core, rare, etc..) is specified in percentages only. However, in the army book (I use WoC), it lists the unit requirements by an actual number of each unit needed for different point values.
Most people will say the Army Book supercedes the BRB on their magi items, army bonuses, etc...but what about for the requirements of the build of your army?
I'm asking because I have a 1,998 points list with 2 core units and 2 rare units, which is a violation against our individual army book.
But if I increase the points (by adding some random magic item somewhere) to over 2k, the army is now illegal because it shows a minimum requirement of 3+ core units and the warhounds can't count towards that.
If I follow the BRB, all is well and the point % for the core is over 25% and the points for my rares are under 25%.
Which book do I follow for this?
The rules on how many of each type of unit (ie core,rare and specials) are DEFUNCT. They no longer exist - regardless of the age of your army book. Warhammer has returned to the older system of percentage based forces (thank god!).
the 8th Edition BRB has the upper hand over the codex (unless it's an 8th edition codex of course).
According to GW the rules should be followed in this order:
1. The Latest GW FAQ - check the gaming articles on GW's site for the up-to-date versions every now and then.
2. Warhammer Armies (If released after 8th BRB )
3. 8th BRB
4. Warhammer Armies (If released before 8th BRB )
Is that clear for you?
Last edited by Fantasticmrfox; October 21st, 2011 at 14:27.
Yes very. Thank you for the speedy response. It makes it a lot easier trying to make army lists with limited models using the % instead of the codex.
Just a quick add on here. If a unit didn't count towards your minimum core unit number, then it also won't count towards your minimum percentage. Meaning if your warhounds didn't count as a unit for reaching your minimum core requirements in 7th, there points won't count towards your minimum core point requirement in 8th.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.