Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Question 1: Can a player charge a unit that is assaulting a building? This is a EXTREMELY rare circumstance I understand, since it require a three-person battle royale. But this happened to me over the weekend. Dwarves vs Ogres vs Warriors of Chaos. Battle royale, everyone take their movement turn, then everyone takes their shooting, then everyone takes CC etc.... Dwarf unit inside a tower - I (WoC) charge the tower - Ogre player tries to charge me while I'm in base contact with the tower. I suggest that can't happen, of course I'm outvoted since both other players benefit by the Ogre charging, and I don't. Still, it seems pretty apparent in the book where the rules suggest that only one unit can assault a building at a time, and forcing the assaulting unit back an inch if it loses combat so it can be charged next round. Still, it's nowhere in the books that I can see.
Question 2: Alright, my WoC can get a 'Gift of Chaos' that says that during the shooting phase, my character can make a 'Bloodcurdling Roar' and attack any unit within 12" with 3D6 S1 attacks. Is this actually a 'Shooting' attack just because it's in the shooting phase? If a unit gets a ward save vs shooting attacks, does it get a ward vs this? I can't see how this would be a shooting attack either gameplay wise or fluff wise. And in fact, the Blasted Standard that Chaos can get implies there are other types of attacks that can be made in the shooting phase: "Unit receives a 5+ Ward Save vs any attack made in the shooting phase". Why word it that way unless there are in fact, other types of attacks that can be made during that phase?
Question 1: I would agree with your mates, the way I see it, is that it is no different from a 1 vs 1 battle, where I would suppose anyone could charge a unit assaulting a building. Would you have said anything, if the Dwarf player had charged your unit instead?
Question 2: If the attack doesn't state that it is a shooting attack, then it isn't a shooting attack. By stating it is a shooting attack I mean something like "This is a ranged weapon." Or "The character may shoot" etc. etc. It depends on the wording.
That means Sir Isaac Newton is the deadliest-son-of-a-bitch in space!
Question 1: BRB page 121; "There can be no multiple charges against a building." So if you had already charged the building, then the Ogre player couldn't have charged you.
Question 2: I would say that the roar is a shooting attack. It happens in the shooting phase, and follows all the strictures of a shooting attack.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
I found it! REPEAT! i found it!
Q: What happens if a unit that is assaulting a building is itself
A: The assault on the building is abandoned (move the unit
that was assaulting the building backward 1") The two units
outside the building are now engaged in combat instead and
will fight a round of combat this turn.
edit: FAQ page 9
Last edited by Digger; December 25th, 2011 at 10:44.
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs
Perfect Digger! Thanks for the help! I'll suck it up on the second question, since they are distributed as shooting attacks I guess there's really nothing but fluff to say they aren't, and even that is ambiguous. Thanks for the help folks!
And Merry Christmas!