Great Weapon & ASF - I order in combat, but do I get my to hit re-rolls? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Senior Member Blackadder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Age
    23
    Posts
    778
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    95 (x2)

    Great Weapon & ASF - I order in combat, but do I get my to hit re-rolls?

    As title.

    I know that if you equip a Great Weapon on an ASF model (or buy a great weapon and something which allows you to ASF) then combat goes in I order.

    What I want to know is whether or not you still get your re-roll to hit if you have higher I when you have ASF paired with a Great Weapon.

    Thanks


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member Raganok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Brisbane, AU
    Age
    31
    Posts
    227
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    62 (x1)

    I'd say no, because the ASL on the great weapon cancels the ASF, meaning you no longer have either ability, meaning the rerolls don't trigger because there is no ASF to trigger them.
    May the Dragon of Unhappiness never fly up your bottom.

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Århus, Denmark
    Age
    25
    Posts
    275
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    31 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Raganok View Post
    I'd say no, because the ASL on the great weapon cancels the ASF, meaning you no longer have either ability, meaning the rerolls don't trigger because there is no ASF to trigger them.
    The cancel out part is actually a big topic in another thread about multiple ASF, whether or not you still have the ability if it cancels out.
    That means Sir Isaac Newton is the deadliest-son-of-a-bitch in space!

  5. #4
    Member Raganok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Brisbane, AU
    Age
    31
    Posts
    227
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    62 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Lasso290391
    The cancel out part is actually a big topic in another thread about multiple ASF, whether or not you still have the ability if it cancels out.
    Yes, there is that other thread, but I didn't want to bring that argument into this thread. However, I have figured out an answer that doesn't bring up that canceled/not canceled question.

    If a model with ASF is striking in initiative order, regardless of whether the attacking model has higher initiative or not, the model will not get rerolls to hit from ASF.
    May the Dragon of Unhappiness never fly up your bottom.

  6. #5
    Senior Member Gedderz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Brighouse
    Age
    29
    Posts
    2,434
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    744 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Raganok View Post
    If a model with ASF is striking in initiative order, regardless of whether the attacking model has higher initiative or not, the model will not get rerolls to hit from ASF.
    Is this a quote from the BRB or an FAQ? Just out of interest.
    "Should take you a while though because of your sloth like pace"
    Click here and watch Gedderz try and cross the road

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    If this is about high elves. Then they still get asf with rerolls with a asl weapon

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    If 2 models with asf are fighting each other but are striking at the same time. So no one gets rerolls. Brb pg 66

  9. #8
    Member Raganok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Brisbane, AU
    Age
    31
    Posts
    227
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    62 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Gedderz

    Is this a quote from the BRB or an FAQ? Just out of interest.
    No, just me para-phrasing.

    And high elves ASF thing is a different matter, they have special rules.
    May the Dragon of Unhappiness never fly up your bottom.

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    279
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    I think that applied as written, you would strike in initiative order, but you would still get your re-rolls if your Int is >= to the opponents. That is a separate effect of the ASF rule. You still have both rules in play.
    The careful application of terror is a form of communication in itself - Zutta Law #4.

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    I think this thread is getting confusing.

    A model with the ASF, Strikes first and rerolls falled misses if int is => than opponent. Brb pg 66, ASF rule

    If model with ASF is fighting a opponent model with ASF. Both fight at the same time neither will get rerolls. Brb pg 66 ASF rule last paragraph last sentence.

    Ex, High Elf vs High Elf. Both attack at the same time neither will reroll misses.


    A model with ASF rule and ASL rule, the 2 rules cancel out and it attacks at int. Bsb pg 66, ASL rule last paragraph last sentence.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts