Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Does anyone know if swarms are necessarily skirmishers? I can't find anything in the army codex (VC) or the rule book that says they are or are not. My question is, for example, can two swarms of spirit hosts, with a total unit size of 6, negate a rank bonus by flanking?
If it says the swarm is skirmish, it cannot negate ranks. Bat swarms and tomb swarms are examples for skirmishing swarms.
So yes, any swarm that is not a skirmisher may negate ranks if the units unit strength is 5 or above.
Swarms do not automatically count as skirmishers, they have to have skirmishers as a rule of theirs in their description, otherwise they count as rank and file troops, not skirmishers.
The iron crowned is getting closer,
Swings his hammer down on him,
Like a thunderstorm he's crushing,
Down the Noldor's proudest king.
Under my foot, so hopeless it seems.
You've troubled my day, now feel the pain.
- Blind Guardian