Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Here's my question.
Scenario: A Strigoi vampire casts Curse of Years on a unit of ten. The opponent lets the spell go and two models take auto-wounds on sixes. The spell stays in play and will hit on fives next time. It stops only if the vampire dies, ends the spell, attempts another one, or the opponent dispels it.
In the next round, the Strigoi uses a bloodline power to summon three ghouls on the far table edge. This power can not be dispelled and the ghouls enter as a unit returning from pursuit.
Does the use of a bloodline power count as "attempting another spell," thereby canecelling out the Curse of Years?
Thanks in advance...
No it doesn't count as a spell, it is an ability. So the other thing can remain.
What about bound items though? That is casting a spell but not really attempting to cast it since it goes automatically and is not the actual model doing it...
That's a good question. To me I can see it both ways. Like you say, the spell comes from the artefact, not the caster himself. On the other hand, if he's busy chanting some sort of activation spell for the bound spell or doing some other mumbo-jumbo, maybe that would interfere with his concentration on the original spell. I may have to call GW on that one, unless someone out there already knows.
Yeah, personally I think since it says 'the wizard attempts to cast another spell...' and a bound item is just activating it not attempting to cast it, then it should be fine. I wouldn't be suprised if it was the other way though.
So if you have book of arkhan (cast vanhel's danse macabre) and the character holding it also has vanhel's danse macabre, can he use both in the same turn? You can't cast the same spell twice, but is the bound item counted as a spell? If you can cast one or the other, then I would say bound items would get rid of RiP, but if you can do both the bound item and the normal spell then I would say you could do the bound item with a RiP spell staying.
I'm sure someone else here has read clarification somewhere. *Waits*
Another good question, I might just call the rules boys at GW. All I can say is that no one protested at the tourney a week or so ago when I did just that, used the book of arkhan and cast the same spell with the same model. It seems like it should be legal.
Think of it this way, you take the Rod of Flaming Death, a magic missile bound item. You just happen to roll for one of the two magic missile spells in the VC list. Wouldn't it be an unfair penalty to now say that by the luck of the roll you can't use that bound item freely? And besides, its specific damage isn't the same as the other two spells (D6, Str4 instead of 2D6, Str 3 or whatever).
Okay, GW says, and without any hesistation, that bound spells do not interfere with a RiP. The spell remains viable and continues until one of the four conditions is met.
Also, a bound spell and identical known spell can both be cast in the same round by the same caster, like Danse Macabre.
Ah ok, thats good to know.
As for the rod of flaming death, I think even if they had said the other way you could still do it since it is a different spell from the ones rolled. You can cast 2 magic missiles as long as they are different spells can't you?