Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
can you kill a horse before you kill the rider? My friend claims you can, similar to splitting attack vs a mounted large mounster, but it sounds illegalto me.
First off to the Fantasy Rules forum.Originally posted by InXs[cF
,Jan 8 2005, 11:17]can you kill a horse before you kill the rider? My friend claims you can, similar to splitting attack vs a mounted large mounster, but it sounds illegalto me.[snapback]297004[/snapback]
It is possible to kill certain mounts before the rider, but it is not the attacker's choice.
Riders on mounts with 1 wound are considered a single model and the attack is made against the rider. The mount is gone when the rider is killed. pages 69 and 103 "...all blows are struck against the rider..."
For mounts with 2 or more wounds, called monsters, the shots are randomized, page 103 "It is not possible to shoot specifically at either the rider or the mount." "...any hits are randomized..."
So no shooting the horse out from under the rider on purpose. Maybe the mount will fall first, but only if the mount is a monster.
No, if it is a normal mount that counts as cavalry (horses, wolves, Cold Ones, boars, whatever you happen to be riding) then you cannot target the mount - he dies when the rider dies.
If it is a monster mount (dragons, hippogryphs, certain special character's horse e.g. Tyrion's horse) then any shooting hits are randomised. In combat you can choose which to attack, so in that scenario it is possible for the mount to die and the rider to fight on foot (IIRC, I don't have the rulebook on me at the moment).
All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.