Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can you flank, or rear attack unengaged units? Or do they automatically turn to face you.
Also, I was wondering if one of my gorgers (Rare Ogre Kingdoms Unit that comes as table end reinforcement) can get into close combat with my friends dwarf boltthrower without being hit by the other one. And on the turn My Gorger arrives he cant assault, so can the bolt throwers make a full 180 degree turn and bolt my ass?
"...a swarm of mechanised locusts sweeping over the land, stripping it bare of resources, bringing death and destruction to anything that stands in its path. Emperor preserve us against the predations of these so-called Orkish cults of speed!" - Cardinal Nomura at the Conclave of Hessen
You can flank or rear charge an unengaged enemy, unless they are skirmishers like beastmen. I know that they reform to face you no matter where you are coming from.
I think the bolt thrower can turn and shoot at you but it would have the usual modifier for moving and shooting. Not completely sure, but that is what I think.
You can flank/rear charge an unengaged unit but it won't cause a panic test in the same way that it would if you flanked a unit that was already in combat. Strewart is right about skirmishers as well, they just form ranks facing the direction of the charge when they get charged.
I think the ruling with bolt throwers is that they turn round and shoot, as far as I am aware there are no modifiers to hit.
Helper monkey, bring me beer and donuts
bolt throwers (or war machines in genersl) do not suffer any to hit modifyers if they just turn, but if they move, then they cannot shoot
"Apprentices practice on swords, If you had ordered proper weapons, like axes or hammers, you would have someone like me making them" master weapon smither.
As already stated, skirmishers are the only ones who can't be. Unless they are either already engaged or being charged by two units- in which case they rank up to the unit charging first, then the other unit is moved in and may get a flank/rear.Can you flank, or rear attack unengaged units? Or do they automatically turn to face you.War machines don't pay any movement to just pivot on the spot (as a turn like that is for them), sort of like skirmishers shooting. I think the steam tank is an exception with its hull-mounted weaponry, as it has to pay steam points to turn at all. But then, the steam tank is in a class all of its own already.Also, I was wondering if one of my gorgers (Rare Ogre Kingdoms Unit that comes as table end reinforcement) can get into close combat with my friends dwarf boltthrower without being hit by the other one. And on the turn My Gorger arrives he cant assault, so can the bolt throwers make a full 180 degree turn and bolt my ass?
Everyone's entitled to their own opinion, even if it's wrong.