Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Red charges black skirmishers during his turn, breaks them. Black skirmishers flee to position shown in 1.1, red fails to catch up to black.
Black begins turn, rallies sucessfully.
Moves 4 inches rightwards into the forest.
1. Can black move on the same turn that they sucessfully rally?
2. Does black decide which direction the units face when they rally?
IIRC, you can't move the turn you rally, but if you rally you may have the unit in any position/formation you wish as long as individual models don't move more than 1" from their fleeing position.
Is that diagram a little complex? Any reason for the two extra units of knights? Anyways I think it would be illegal for the skirmishers to move into the forest, partly because they just rallied and partly because a unit cannot finish movement inside a forest.
edit: havent changed ^ but after rallying it's actually centre must remain the same and no model may move more than their M stat. And I think I meant that a unit must end up completely within a forest to move into it. Hmmm I better go read the rule book.
I guess it is a bit complicated.
I also thought that you can't move the turn you rally, but my opponent (black) and a GW employee said that because they're skirmishers, they can move out of the way.
The reason it's important is because his skirmishers are almost base to base with my knights, and there's no room for him to put his knights if he wants to charge through his units.
Would he still be able to charge?
Nothing can ever move the turn they rally, with ONE exception: Fast Cav units that have rallied the turn after they chose to flee as a charge reaction. Nothing else, in the same or any other situation, may ever move when they rally.
You can, however, perform a reform of your unit, as long as the centre of the unit remains in the same spot, and no single model moves further than their M stat. In the case of skirmishers though, they can't reform as such... so I'd not let them move at all.
What's that about not finishing its move inside a forest? Well, they can, the only things that can't move into a forest are flyers, and then only by a flight move. They can use their normal ground movement do enter it as anything else. Chariots take hits from entering woods, but aside from that can move into them normally, I think.
Ok, checked the BRB and I made one mistake: no model may move more than _twice_ their movement value. Apart from that, the rules are a bit unclear... it says that a rallying unit has to spend their turn reforming, which is why it can't move. However skirmishers can't really reform, or maybe they can, depending on how you view it.
One way is saying that since they can't reform they can't move at all. The other is that even without ranks and such they're just as capable of milling around and adopting a new formation, as long as no model moves more than twice their movement rate and the centre of the unit remains in the same place.
Of course, defining the "centre" of a mob of skirmishers is probably a debate in itself, I'm now inclined to believe that you can indeed move the skirmishers when rallying.
I'm afraid you're screwed, boyo.
Hmm.. if the center has to remain the same, then the unit must STILL be blocking me, so would he be able to move the center of the unit to make way for his knight's charges?
It's not really a big deal.. my knights made all their saves after recieving their charge, and wiped out the enemy knights on their counterattack.. I'm just curious about this for the next time it comes up.