Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Yes you can. Unless stated in their special rules, any character can join any friendly unit. Just form up the bases around the character (in extreme cases, this could result in the character being in the front rank and the rear rank at once). However, all units move at the speed of their slowest member, and in the example you gave he could still be picked out as a target by ranged attacks (as a Carnosaur is so much bigger than a Cold One).
Catapultam habeo. Nisi omniam pecuniam mihi dabis, saxum immanem ad capitem tuum mittam.
Unless im mistaken a model has to be on a cavalry sized base or larger in an infantry unit to be able to be picked out by missle fire,or monster base in cavalry unit. Seems sort of weird that someone could target an orc in a unit of goblins but not a warboss in a unit of orcs,considering the size difference(in fluff atleast) is about the same.