Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So here's the scenario, and after rereading the psychology section in the rulebook several times, I still have no answer.
Let's say I have a unit of 6 ghouls who, of course, cause fear. They charge a unit of 15 skinks who, despite being cold-blooded, fail their fear test. The skinks will need 6's to hit in the first round of close combat, but can they still stand and shoot? And if so, do they need 6's to hit?
Fear doesn't effect the stand and shoot reaction, that's seperate. Its done before combat, the kills aren't counted as CR so they'd hit as per normal then suffer the 6 to hit when actaully fighting.
Bugger Bugger, we've been playing it the wrong way, to my benefit.
If a larger unit failed a fear check, they could still stand and shoot, but would need 6's to hit. Now I have to give up one more advantage, DANG! :-(
I thought that the unit you charge would need 6's to hit only if it outnumbers the unit charging it. If it doesn't outnumber, the unit getting charged runs right?
<-- that room over there in my avatar is full of people who think you are funny...BURN...
"There are some who call me...Tim?" - Tim the Enchanter
The early bird may get the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.
That's right aufde, if the fear cuasing unit charges and it outnumbers the receiving unit, it breaks if the fear check is failed.
The original question was regarding a stand and shoot reaction to fear causing units, which are unchanged from non-fear causing units. Just CC is affected.
The iron crowned is getting closer,
Swings his hammer down on him,
Like a thunderstorm he's crushing,
Down the Noldor's proudest king.
Under my foot, so hopeless it seems.
You've troubled my day, now feel the pain.
- Blind Guardian