Cannon - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Cannon

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Cannon

    When a cannon bounces through a unit is it d6 wounds for each model it hits or is it just the entire unit.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

  3. #2
    Senior Member Amadis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Naggaroth, the land of chill (Canada, Kingston)
    Age
    12
    Posts
    577
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    32 (x2)

    The first question is right "d6 wounds for each model it hits."

  4. #3
    Senior Member aufde's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Hartford, WI
    Age
    27
    Posts
    264
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -18 (x0)

    remember that it does d6 to the model after saves, so you roll 1 to wound dice, saves, then d6 wounds.
    <-- that room over there in my avatar is full of people who think you are funny...BURN...

    "There are some who call me...Tim?" - Tim the Enchanter

    The early bird may get the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Iron Loki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    619
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x2)

    cannons ignore saves. a common sense rule. cannon ball flies in, skeleton lifts shield, cannon ball bounces off rotting, small, wooden shield, without any form of change in direction slams into vampire lord (who for the sake of this story fails his save), who is blown to pieces taking a full 6 wounds. skeleton thankfully has no mind and can't comprehend the lack of plausibility behind this event as he crumbles to dust.
    that's the thing about perfection, it can only get worse.

  6. #5
    Senior Member §ilent§torm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Age
    29
    Posts
    746
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    20 (x2)

    Even if it didn't ignore saves, a hit that strong will negate pretty much anything anyways.

    The exception of course being an Oldblood or Scar Veteran who's kitted out right. But still, one model in the game? First off, the situation has to arise where that specific model is hit by a cannon, which is highly unlikely (look out sirs and all).
    Everyone's entitled to their own opinion, even if it's wrong.

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    124
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    What about independent characters behind a unit. Can't you aim and snipe off characters chilling behind units like lone mages. Otherwise its very diffucult to do without taking Lore of the heavens.
    Either way you do the math, it all adds up to you goin&#39; down

  8. #7
    Senior Member Amadis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Naggaroth, the land of chill (Canada, Kingston)
    Age
    12
    Posts
    577
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    32 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Dargrimm Firebeard
    What about independent characters behind a unit. Can't you aim and snipe off characters chilling behind units like lone mages. Otherwise its very diffucult to do without taking Lore of the heavens.
    You can still hit them with a cannon, even if you can't see them. You can't shoot the character with a Hochland long rifle, or handgun, the character has to be in the line of sight.

  9. #8
    Senior Member Iron Loki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    619
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x2)

    Firebeard, technically you can, but it's frowned apon. it's a bit of playing with the rules. ya can if you want, but i'd avoid it myself for fear that my opponent would whip out some underhanded trick to get back at me for it. the downside is if you honestly overshoot and take out a character, there's a good chance you'll get a whine about 'cannon snipping'.
    Magic, ya lost me, where did hochlands and handguns come up in this convo? i thought we where talking about cannons.
    that's the thing about perfection, it can only get worse.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts