Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
My friends didnt really understand the rule... um, Say my opponent issues a challenge, who gets to select who fights it, I thought i could select any one of my characters to accept the challege and he thinks he can select what character to fight... plz just clear this up for us..
tnks in advance
One player issues a challenge, the charging unit gets to decide first (if they opt not to then the defending unit may issue one). The issuing player chooses which character from his side will issue the challenge, his opponent then decide whether anyone will bother accepting. If he does choose accept the challenge then it is with a character of his choice - for example a blood dragon lord issues a challenge because he has to, the other player can opt to accept with his unit champion (which is highly likely to get battered) this would free up and more powerful characters to hit back at the unit.
Helper monkey, bring me beer and donuts
Luch is correct, but remember the challenge can only be acceptted if the hero is already fighting that unit (IE in front rank but not btb with challenger).
Does the warrior accepting the challenge not have to be in base contact? I always thought that (or rather was thought that)... Is this new or has it been like this since the 4th eddition arrived?!? :o
-lurking in the shadows of LO.
Officially diagnosed by TekoreMelkhior, Necrarch Lord
Just btb with an enemy model, not the challenger. Basically the two models move through the ranks till base to base, but they just need to be fighting in the same combat; so they could be on opposite ends of the front rank but still accept the challenge.
first off, to declare a challenge the character has to be fighting the unit, ie in btb.
the player who charged gets to issue challenges first, and he may only issue one challenge.
the accepting player gets to chose who accepts the challenge.
if the charging player does not issues, the charged units champion or character may then issue one.
the accepting unit may choose who accepts.
you must accept a challenge if you only have 1 rank, because you need a rank to hide behind.
ie, 5 empire knights and a wizard on horse back charge a men-at-arms unit.
the knights are in one rank, and the men-at-arms are in 4. the knights do not issue a challenge. now the men-at-arms champion issues a challenge. the knights must accept with either the wizard or the champion, because they do not have a second rank.
say if they have 2 ranks, they can refuse. the player who issues chooses who he retires to the back rank
Is it just one challenge per combat? I always thought that was the case, but the latest Black Gobbo battle report had a combat where two challenges were issued (Ogres vs Dwarfs, top of turn 4).
Everyone's entitled to their own opinion, even if it's wrong.
only one challenge per combat
i have no idea what the black gobbo guys were doing then??